None right now.
(all international & blog specific unless told otherwise, aka "U.S" only or "TW" aka Tour Wide)

Wednesday, August 31, 2011


I have the pleasure of having J.D. Thompson with me today, she’s the author of her debut YA novel Silver and Stone! J.D.  is also sharing a e-book copy of Silver and Stone with one lucky reader who comments in this thread according to the direction at the end of the Interview.
Want to read my not-too-much-revealed review first, then click here. Plus, you don't want to miss the little chat with the main characters Lucas and Alexis at the end of the interview! And the first excerpt of Silver and Stone!

Let’s get started!

Niina : Tell us five fun facts about yourself?

J.D : 1. I have an unhealthy obsession with books. (I would read in my sleep if it were humanly possible)
2. I sing in the shower. Badly.
3. I drink an obscene amount of coffee.
4. I blame most of my nonstop multi-tasking on adult ADHD, and thank God for it.
5. If I could, I would live on chocolate chip cookie dough.

Niina : Silver and Stone is out now, can you tell what gave you the idea for the book, and the series?

J.D : To be honest, the idea came to me while reading yet another YA vampire novel. I finished it thinking disappointedly: "Well that was just like every other book I've read in the last year." So I began thinking of what had yet to be done in the YA genre, and what I would like to see as a reader. From there Lucas was born, as well as Alexis and the mysteries that surrounded her.
Niina : I loved the character of Alexis, but how was writing Lucas, as he knows a lot more of everything going on than Alexis?

J.D :  It was hard at times not to give too much away. From Lucas's standpoint, it was a waiting game. Knowing what was going on yet having to wait for Alexis to discover it herself. It was a challenge.

Niina : I fell quickly in love with Weatherford Prepatory School? What was your inspiration for it?

J.D : My greatest inspiration for Weatherford Preparatory School was Bishop's University in Lennoxville Quebec. The campus is so beautiful and definitely has the historical look I was going for. From there I added my own elements to the mix.
Niina : What chapter did you most enjoyed writing and why?

J.D :  I think I had the most fun writing Chapter 18. Anyone who has read Silver and Stone would know why! haha!

Niina : Oh yeah I enjoyed reading that! Used a quote from that chapter as well in the review. ;) So, why did you pick Young Adult genre?

J.D :  It's the genre I can relate to the most. At the moment it would feel forced to write anything else.  

Niina : What is the ideal writing setting for you, what must be on hand or near by?

J.D :  I prefer to write in darkness for one. The other must-have would be coffee or any caffeinated beverage to my disposal. Sometimes I'll play music that fits the emotion of the particular scene I'm writing.

Niina : Now, which way are you going with Bloodlines Novels?

J.D : Without giving too much away, the Bloodlines series is going to be a rollercoaster that's for sure. The intertwining relationships will definitely be tested throughout the novels. And (spoiler alert) some lives will be lost along the way.

Niina : Now to more personal questions! Your current Top 5 dangerous bad boys in literature? (and why?)

J.D : 1. Eric Northman, True Blood series by Charlaine Harris. I know I said I was over vampires, but that Viking is irresistible.
2. Noah, the Notebook by Nicholas Spakrs. Ok, so he's not totally a bad boy but he's an underdog.
3. Damon Salvatore, the Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith. I know I know… another vampire. But come on, how can someone NOT love Damon?
4. Will, Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. I'm a sucker for men with dark hair and light eyes. 
 5. Lucas Alexander, Silver and Stone. Yes, it's a bias opinion, but I love him all the same! haha

Niina : Now, currently, who is your book boyfriend?

J.D : Since I'm currently writing Blood and Champagne, my heart is with Lucas.
Niina : Would you rather meet real vampires or werewolves?

J.D :  Werewolves, hands down. Don't get me wrong, there are a few vampires listed above that I would sink my own teeth into, but werewolves are usually written in a more rugged and manly way.

Niina : I you could only read 5 YA books for the rest of your life what would they be, and why?

J.D : 1. All of the Harry Potter series, on repeat - for eternity. I'm a total Potterhead.
2. The Hunger Games because in my mind there was nothing not to like.
3. Twilight (cliché, I know) because it started the vampire/werewolf craze that exists today.
4. Percy Jackson and the Olympians. I loved the integration of mythology in our modern times.
5. The Bloodlines Series ;) had to throw that one in there too. 

Niina : Flirting with the idea of bringing a new mythological/paranormal creature to page, what would be exciting to write about?

J.D : I'm still toying with that idea actually. I've already begun thinking of what will come after the Bloodlines series is completed. I guess I'll just keep that one to myself for the moment ;)

Niina : We must just wait then. ;) In real life would you go for Lucas,  Theo  or *gasp* Blake?

J.D : I think at one point in high school everyone has dated a Blake. Now, being older and wiser, I wouldn't touch him with a ten foot pole. With Lucas and Theo it's a little more complicated since their personalities are so different yet I'm a little bit in love with both of them. I think Alexis would agree with me on this one!

Niina : Before we wrap up with you, tell us one of your guilty pleasures?

J.D :  I have to admit my guilty pleasure at the moment is sleep! I don't nearly get enough of it. So I take every random opportunity to get some extra Zs in there!

( And now for something complitely different... yes-- bad/brilliant brittish humor. ;) I hade the pleasure to speak with Lucas, I tried to keep the questions from revealing too much about him so surprises aren't spoiled for those of you who aren't familiar with S&S yet, but revealing for those of us who have read it! )

Niina : I have never interviewed anyone like you before, thanks for agreeing to let us get to know you a little better.

Lucas : I've never been interviewed before, so I guess it's a first for both of us!

Niina : How old are you? I don’t mean to sound rude, just you seem like an old soul?

Lucas : Technically, I'm ageless. I've been around since the beginning of man, so to speak.
Alexis : He's old Niina, like the Crypt Keeper old.
Lucas : Seems to me I remember seeing you around in roman times Alexis.
Alexis : Yes but I'm reborn. It's different.

Niina : Alexis does have a good point... Talking of Alexis can you tell me what you most love about her?

Lucas : I love the way she's totally oblivious of her beauty. She has no idea what affect she has on others, and on me. It's endearing.

Niina : Awwww... What was the last romantic thing you did for her?

Lucas : I believe condemning myself to an eternity of exile tops the list.
Alexis : Yeah, I told you not to do that.
Lucas : You know I'd do it again.

Niina : You two are adorable together! What about what was the last romantic thing Alexis did for you?

Lucas : (laughing hysterically)
Alexis : What? I do romantic things!
Lucas : Uh huh.
Alexis : I do!
Lucas : (smirking) Next question please.

Niina : Heh, so is this forever for you two, no more looking at other pretty girls?

Lucas : I only have eyes for her.

Niina : But there’s Theo, you feel jealous?

Lucas : I don't think I've had anything to worry about so far.

Niina : Ending on a happy note, what's the one food you and Alexis can’t live without?

Lucas : Since I've been around for so long, I've had to opportunity to follow the evolution of food so to speak. That being said, I have become increasingly fond of this Kraft Diner Alexis keeps feeding me.
Alexis : It's tasty. It's cheesy. What's there not to like?

Niina : Thank you for taking time to answer the questions!

I’m happy to tell everyone that J.D. has agreed to Giveaway a copy of  Silver and Stone to one lucky reader! So Comment to this entry and add your email address ( example: elvenspirit[at]gmail[dot]com ) to the comment and will be deciding a winner among the commenters. I will personally email the winner (to the address given here), as well as announce them on my blog! The “Silver and Stone” Giveaway will be open 31st of August  - 16th September 2011! J.D. Thank you for stopping by!

The giveaway has closed - check out the lucky winner here!

Now to get you hooked here is first Excerpt from Silver and Stone!

    The autumn colors are striking. Brilliant patches of gold, orange and red spread as far as the eye can see. I know this because Lucas tells me, not because I am paying any attention to the scenery. I am much more enthralled by Lucas himself, observing every fine feature thoroughly. The whole world could be in black and white at the moment and I wouldn’t notice.
    He is beautiful. A masterpiece. Whoever is in charge of choosing such things as appearance and charisma did a damn fine job when it came to Lucas Alexander. His bone structure alone is to be envied. Square, chiseled jaw line and high cheekbones, no doubt leaving people regularly guessing his nationality. His tanned skin seems golden in the afternoon sunlight, complimenting his brown locks perfectly. But the feature that can spontaneously stop my heart at any given moment are his eyes. Deep-set and glowing green, it’s as though I can see everything that is Lucas through those two anatomical windows. Above them are lashes so long and thick they look fake. I actually know people who pay good money for eyelashes like those.
    All this beauty combined with a killer personality is practically unheard of. Which brings me back to myself. Why Lucas has chosen to spend his time with me is illogical. I’m nothing special. My dark curls are unruly, always out of control regardless the industrial amount of styling products I load onto them. The freckles covering my nose don’t fade no matter how much time I spend away from the sun. From an objective point of view I would consider myself cute but nothing even close to the level of beauty that Olivia and Amber hold.
    It must be the loner factor. I get the appeal; young girl in a crisis, with very little friends to turn to, needing a knight in shining black Escalade to sweep her off her feet. Or maybe I seem mysterious, an outsider that is both innocent and dangerous. A guy always likes a challenge, right?
    It’s not as though he has told me he loves me, or even made our relationship official for that matter. We’re still in that weird ambiguous stage of dating where neither parties have made the first step to locking down the other. I had a similar experience with Blake when we first started seeing each other however it wasn’t long before he took it upon himself and declared us a couple. I hadn’t been consulted on the matter of course, as discussions generally ran short with Blake, but if it meant that I was the proud girlfriend of a star athlete I didn’t care much for talking. I realize that may peg me as superficial but it was the truth at the time. Blake isn’t the deep, thinking type. He is no onion; there aren’t many layers to Lacrosse King Blake. 
    Lucas is unusual that way. I can tell that there is much more lurking underneath the attractive surface and that the boy is more complicated than he lets on. I see it when his eyes cloud over, shadows rolling across his usually pleasant gaze with the mention of things like fate or destiny. I choose to ignore it for now. To be honest I’m afraid that bringing up the subject might be like opening Pandora’s box.
    A rustling in the nearby branches pulls me out of my Lucas-ogling daze faster than I care to. My footsteps come to an abrupt halt as I stare motionless at the now still bushes. Let it have been the wind blowing through the trees, or even another one of my weird daytime hallucinations. Let it be anything but a bear.
  As I look to Lucas for reassurance, I can cross hallucination off the list of possible suspects, since he has become just as frozen as I. My heart is beating hard and fast, the thumping so powerful I’m sure I could detect a pulse through my jacket.
    “Did you see that?” I whisper.
    Another rustle in the trees sends me reeling and Lucas covers my mouth with his right hand to avoid my screaming. I’m afraid of anything larger than a Labrador so a bear most definitely qualifies a top spot on my list of most dangerous animals. I remember a tip I learned during my short stint with the girl scouts: when one encounters a bear it is suggested to play dead. I’ve not yet reached the point of dropping to the floor like a rag-doll and to be perfectly truthful I doubt my being immobile will prevent becoming the beast’s appetizer.
    Lucas’s stare has narrowed as his eyes follow the movement in the trees, his darkening expression only adding to the growing panic in my stomach.
    “Don’t move.” Lucas commands, holding a hand up to order me still, as though his authoritative tone wasn’t enough to scare me shitless.
    Silently, Lucas tiptoes towards the bushes. So silent in fact that his quiet steps remind me of a bird, weightless and airy, and I wonder for a moment if he isn’t levitating. For someone so big I would have thought him to be clumsy. I should know better than to make such sweeping generalizations; I’m living proof that not all small things are agile.
    Again, another movement comes from behind the wild autumn trees only this time I get a quick glimpse of something breeze between the branches. Something big and black.
    My hands begin to tremble as I create the scenario in my head; a gargantuan grizzly dismembering my puny sixteen year old body and then eating Lucas as a Happy Meal. I take two feeble steps back hoping to distance myself without drawing too much attention. I would have thought Lucas would be doing the same, since provoking a bear clearly isn’t the smartest thing to be doing, yet he is still approaching the unidentified black creature as though it were nothing more than a kitten.
    “Lucas,” I hiss. “Get back here!”
    He is only a few feet away yet, while I keep backing away and Lucas keeps a steady pace forward, the distance between us seem like miles.
    “Seriously, Lucas, do you have a death wish or something? Let’s get out of here!”
    In an act of bravery, or sheer stupidity I can’t be sure, I step forward and forcefully grab Lucas’s arm. We will get off this stupid trail even if I have to knock him out and drag the boy the entire two kilometers back to the SUV. Finally, Lucas turns away from the area in question and looks me square in the eye.
    “I told you to stay where you were.” Lucas utters under his breath.
  The normally soft spoken Lucas that I’ve come to know is gone and for the first time since we’ve met I’m scared. Not of Lucas per se, he’s too much of a gentleman to ever hurt a woman. No. What I’m afraid of is that the innate male gene imbedded within him will actually make Lucas believe that he can take on a half ton monster. His eyes are wild and I can feel his skin vibrating with inflamed energy from under my hand.
  “Lucas, this was a bad idea. Let’s leave before – “
   But my sentence is left unfinished. Instead, I am thrown to the ground forcefully by Lucas, who in one sharp motion is covering my entire fetus-positioned body with his massive frame. Above our heads I hear the loud beating of wings, so powerful that the rhythmic gusts stir up dust from the trail into our faces making my eyes sting like fire and my lungs gasp for air. I am nearly blinded but I squint hard to see past the dirt cloud that surrounds us into the sky. At first I see nothing, the sand storm too thick too pierce through. But as the steady flapping grows further and the cloud dissipates, just before disappearing behind a cluster of trees, I briefly catch sight of a pair of massive black wings in the sunny October skies.


Author: Richelle Mead
Pages: 327 pages
Publisher: Razorbill
Published: April, 2008
Form: Paperback
Series: Vampire Academy #2
Book Depository: Buy
Adlibris: Buy

Since the first book the weather has grown cold and winter is coming to Montana, Rose faces an interview to see wither she is adapt to become a guardian or not, by a legend. Her trainer Dimitri and her take to the road only to find a bloody massacre, the Strigoi have attacked and more disturbing it looks like they aren't working alone like normal.

The news of the attack spread quickly and Christmas plans are done over and St. Vladimir's Academy filled with visiting Moroi families which also brings out Rose's mother to the school - happy reunion? I think not.

With the Strigoi and her mother in town you'd think Rose wouldn't have time to remember the feelings she has for Dimitri, but those are there to stick, it doesn't matter that Mason, a fellow guardian novice is head over heels in love with her or that Christian's aunt Tasha has appeared to make her move on Dimitri - Rose still wants him and doesn't want to share. But knowing she cannot have him, regardless.

We also get to meet cocky and aristocratic Adrian, a Royal Moroi, who becomes interested in Rose and Lissa,  interested in both but in different ways.

Welcome to Vampire Academy's Winter Wonderland!

This is just as interesting and fun, emotion filled as Vampire Academy Book 1 was! You get to ride the story out swiftly, the story picks up easy recapping the first book and then keeps moving one event after another, and most enjoyable, definitely, is the ski trip to a Moroi resort.

Rose's story entwined with all the others is addictive to read. I highly recommend YA readers to follow up on the series after book one, it's worth it. I mean don't you want to know what happens to Dimitri and Rose, Lissa and Christian, what are the Moroi up to, what's the Spirit Element? Yeah, I thought so. ;)

Rating :

Tuesday, August 30, 2011


In few days I have the pleasure to interview J.D. Thompson about her debut novel "Silver and Stone" and don't miss this great 4 STAR Young Adult Giveaway! To see my Review of Silver and Stone visit HERE.

Monday, August 29, 2011


Author: J.D. Thompson
Pages:  204 KB / 132 pages
Publisher: J.D. Thompson
Published: August, 2011
Form: E-Book (Review Copy)
Series: Bloodlines  #1
Amazon: Buy/Kindle

Alexis is sixteen, about to start senior year in gorgeous old Weatherford Prepatory School, a building with history all the way back from the beginning of 1800’s. Alexis' history is newer she’s had a summer that she wishes had never happened, she had to defend herself which led to the death of her mother – now she is the outcast of her preppy, Chanel and D&G wearing school mates. Her boyfriend joined forces with Alexis' past friend and that betrayal still stings. But luckily she still has few friends, but it doesn’t change the fact that is now a heartless monster, even she can see that.

Every night she wakes up to nightmares, knowing they are more than just dreams, but it’s not clear what they are and what they mean. Nonetheless they are terrifying, someone is after her, every night.

The school has a new student and Alexis a new neighbor, the dark, tall and handsome Lucas doesn’t seem too concerned with Alexis' past, she worries what getting involved with Lucas might do to her heart as boys are trouble, and her heart cannot take any more pain. But Lucas seems to heal her and she smiles for the first time since her mother passes away.

Fan Art Graphic by me
But destiny has decided it’s not an easily life waiting for Alexis, her dreams get worse and visions begin and it becomes clear something horrible is going on, but is it just in her mind, is she going crazy or are the things she sees real, perhaps a horrible promise of the future to come?

Wonderful world of the old Weatherford Mansion, trees turning color, love blossoming and darkness creeping ever closer.

Thompson’s writing is a joy to read, in my opinion up there with the best YA I’ve read! Engaging, addictive, must-know-what-happens next! Alexis has grown up fast which makes her character interesting, but she still has her 16 year old attitude and embarrassments, sister troubles and eye for one special boy. Lucas is an “old soul” you can feel it right away even though cleverly Alexis makes him younger, Lucas definitely is the kinda boy who draws attention from high school girls and when he grows up the ladies as well.

The story is somewhat short, I wanted it to last longer, but luckily the second book in the Bloodlines Series Blood and Champagne is coming out in the near future!

Almost until the end you are kept guessing what is going on, you might know what is coming, how it’s going to turn out but the way she writes she doesn’t giveaway too much and the ending is definitely a surprise! Expect to feel a little sad, happy, blushing and heartbroken while you read Alexis’s story!

Definitely worth reading if you are into paranormal YA!

Read an Excerpt and participate in Silver and Stone Giveaway (31st of Aug. - 16th of Sep.) HERE.

Rating :

Saturday, August 27, 2011


It's probably unknow fact that I like do to most of the graphics on my book reviews myself. I thought I'd share some of my work with you all! Let me know what you think, individual pieces or in general, I'd love to get feedback. ;)

Dimitri is just too hot to not be in all VA graphics. ;)


It’s time! My blog has hit triple digits and it’s time to celebrate!
This of course means my 100 follower giveaway!
The giveaway is International, I’ll be using Book Depository to send you your copy of the book of your choice – but first you have to play along a little!

Name of my blog is “For The Love of Reading!” A witty little frustrated quip of a well-used saying – now, what I want from you is your own version of it ( be as creative as you want, or as to the point as you wish ) for example “For the love of Tom Jones!” or “For the love of low-fat pudding!

Just leave a comment on this entry with an ABC - a) your answer, b) the book you’d like and c) your email address and will do the honors and pick a number and we’ll see who goes home with a book! ( well -- who the book goes home to -- oh! you know what I mean )

And the choices are...

My Review - 5 STARS
Book 1 of the Novel of Silver Dragons (18 and over)

First of MacAlister's Vampire Books (18 and over)

My Review - 5 STARS
Book 1 of the Black Dagger Brotherhood (18 and over)

Book 1 of the Fallen Angels (18 and over)

A hilarious and romantic standalone novel (Modern Day Romance)

(Recengy Historical Romance)

My Review - 5 STARS
Book 1 of the Outlander series (Historical Time-Travel Romance - 18 and over)

My Review - 4.5 STARS
Book 1 of Hush Hush series (YA)

Book 1 of the Series (YA)

My Review - 4 STARS
Book 1 of Vampire Academy (YA)

So pick your favourite out of my favourites and Top Picks!
Giveaway open until September 24th 2011!
I will personally email the winner (to the address given here), as well as announce them on my blog!

This Giveaway has Closed winner can be found here!


I went to the library to pick up few books to read, all turned out to be YA this time but I also went by the store and got Christina Aguilera's Royal Desire Eau de Parfum - first it smells of blackberries and mandarin and after the intial burst of fruitness it smells subtly of honeysuckle and marshamallows, which is delicous! Yum! I wish you could smell it! Next time you walk past the parfum isle give it a sniff. ;)

Except review of those to come up soon!

I also have a confession to make. I am scared of zombies, every time I see a zombie movie I have nightmares so I had to... ummm... don't laugh now... return Rot and Ruin after few pages. Zombies freak me out! LOL!


Author: Richelle Mead
Pages: 332 pages
Publisher: Razorbill
Published: August, 2007
Form: Paperback
Series: Vampire Academy #1
Book Depository: Buy
Adlibris: Buy

A world of living vampires where the good go to school to learn elemental magic, where the dead hunt the living for their powerful living vampire blood – and where Guardians are standing between the two.
Rose is a guardian in training or she was until she escaped with her best friend Lissa a living vampire called the Moroi. Their two year escape has come to an end as Dimitri, a Guardian, finds them and brings them back to the Academy where they are protected against the Strigoi, the vampires who kill and feed on the Moroi, with spells and wards.

As safe as St. Vladimir’s Academy is there are still dark forces stirring trouble for Lissa and Rose, the trouble they originally escaped. And trouble that has been waiting for them to return, not everyone is happy they are back, and schools are notoriously catty, and there is the wicked tongues spreading gossip and rumors and causing trouble for both the quiet and timid Lissa and bad tempered, not-shy-to-sock-you Rose. While Rose has to tip toe around the evil “high school” students and their malicious plans, to stay with Lissa, whom she has a special bond with, see they cannot be apart for Rose can feel Lissa’s emotions and more which makes her her ideal guardian to come.

This bond comes in handy when things begin to go seriously awry, dead animals show up on Lissa’s life someone trying to shock her and make her reveal that there is more to Lissa than a timid observer of events – she might have not specialized in one elemental magic yet but there is something about her…

Dimitri who originally took them back to school, also has Rose’s extra training in his hands, she has two years to catch up to, and also he’s appointed Lissa’s Guardian while she’s in school, which means Rose and Dimitri spend a lot of time together and it’s hard to stay completely professional, which is really all they can ever be, but there is electricity between them and it grows harder and harder to ignore.
So I suggested to Dimitri that maybe he should let me off this time. He laughed, and I was pretty sure it was at me and not with me.
"Why is that funny?”
"Oh," He said, his smile dropping. "You were serious.”
"Of course I was! Look, I've technically been awake for two days. Why do we have to start this training now? Let me go to bed," I whined. "It's just one hour.”
He crossed his arms and looked down at me. His earlier concern was gone. He was all business now. Tough love. "How do you feel right now? After the training you've done so far?”
"I hurt like hell.”
"You'll feel worse tomorrow.”
"So, better to jump in now while you still feel…not as bad.”
"What kind of logic is that?" I retorted.
But I didn't argue anymore as he led me into the weightroom. He showed me the weights and reps he wanted me to do, then sprawled in a corner with a battered Western novel. Some god.
I highly recommend this book! It’s a school of vampires who live like teenagers do with the drama of who slept with who, whose parents are scum, whose life is all drama and who are the cool kids or in their case The Royals - but they also deal with the constant threat of Strigoi and the heavy training schedule of the twining race of Dhamphir, half-vampire, Guardians.

Very entertaining Young Adult read even for a us who are getting closer to thirty!

If you see me in the library today it’s because I’m picking up “Frostbite” the Book #2 of Vampire Academy series.

Rating :


“Ten feet from the car, a man stepped directly into our path. We came to a screeching halt, and I jerked Lissa back by her arm. It was him, the guy I’d seen across the street watching me. He was older than us, maybe mid-twenties, and as tall as I’d figured, probably 6’6” or 6’7”. And under different circumstances - say, when he wasn’t holding up our desperate escape - I would have thought he was hot. Shoulder-length brown hair, tied back into a short pony-tail. Dark brown eyes. A long, brown coat like horse riders wore, not quite a trench coat. A duster, I thought it was called.
But his hotness was irrelevant now. He was only an obstacle keeping Lissa and me away from the car and our freedom. The footsteps behind us slowed, and I knew our pursuers had caught up. Off to the sides, I detected more movement, more people closing in. God. They’d sent almost a dozen guardians to retrieve us. I couldn’t believe it. The queen herself didn’t travel with that many.
Panicked and not entirely in control of my higher reasoning, I acted out of instinct. I pressed up to Lissa, keeping her behind me and away from the man who appeared to be the leader.
“Leave her alone,” I growled. “Don’t touch her.”
His face was unreadable, but he held out his hands in what was apparently supposed to be some sort of calming gesture, like I was a rabid animal he was planning to sedate.
“I’m not going to—”
He took a step forward. Too close.
I attacked him, leaping out in an offensive maneuver I hadn’t used in two years, not since Lissa and I had run away. The move was stupid, another reaction born of instinct and fear. And it was hopeless. He was a skilled guardian, not a novice who hadn’t finished her training. He also wasn’t weak and on the verge of passing out.
And man, was he fast. I’d forgotten how fast guardians could be, how they could move and strike like cobras. He knocked me off as though brushing away a fly, and his hands slammed into me and sent me backwards. I don’t think he meant to strike that hard—probably just intended to keep me away—but my lack of coordination interfered with my ability to respond. Unable to catch my footing, I started to fall, heading straight toward the sidewalk at a twisted angle, hip-first. It was going to hurt. A lot.
Only it didn’t.
Just as quickly as he’d blocked me, the man reached out and caught my arm, keeping me upright. When I’d steadied myself, I noticed he was staring at me - or, more precisely, at my neck. Still disoriented, I didn’t get it right away. Then, slowly, my free hand reached up to the side of my throat and lightly touched the wound Lissa had made earlier. When I pulled my fingers back, I saw slick, dark blood on my skin. Embarrassed, I shook my hair so that it fell forward around my face. It was thick and long and completely covered my neck. I’d grown it out for precisely this reason.
The guy’s dark eyes lingered on the now-covered bite a moment longer and then met mine. I returned his look defiantly and quickly jerked out of his hold. He let me go, though I knew he could have restrained me all night if he’d wanted. Fighting the nauseating dizziness, I backed toward Lissa again, bracing myself for another attack. Suddenly, her hand caught a hold of mine. “Rose,” she said quietly. “Don’t.”
Her words had no effect on me at first, but calming thoughts gradually began to settle in my mind, coming across through the bond . It wasn’t exactly compulsion—she wouldn’t use that on me—but it was effectual, as was the fact that we were hopelessly outnumbered and outclassed. Even I knew this would be pointless. The tension left my body, and I sagged in defeat.
Sensing my resignation, the man stepped forward, turning his attention to Lissa. His face was calm. He swept her a bow and managed to look graceful doing it, which surprised me considering his height. “My name is Dimitri Belikov,” he said. I could hear a faint Russian accent. “I’ve come to take you back to St. Vladimir’s Academy, Princess.”

Read Chapter 1 HERE.

Friday, August 26, 2011


I recently met a lady online who participated in RAK and she offered to get me the book I mentioned I have been meaning to read for ages now, that being The Hunger Games! Now my Book pile is bigger and I can't help but feel happy and want to immediately pay it forward! Share the love! Well, luckily I soon have 100 Follower Giveaway going on which I had few planning hours invested to - to make it special! ♥
And do go visit  Esther's Ever After Blog when you got a chance. :)

The Hunger Games

A young girl volunteers to take her sister's place in a fight to the death in a dystopian future.

"What happens if we choose entertainment over humanity? In Collins's world, we'll be obsessed with grooming, we'll talk funny, and all our sentences will end with the same rise as questions. When Katniss is sent to stylists to be made more telegenic before she competes, she stands naked in front of them, strangely unembarrassed. “They're so unlike people that I'm no more self-conscious than if a trio of oddly colored birds were pecking around my feet,” she thinks. In order not to hate these creatures who are sending her to her death, she imagines them as pets. It isn't just the contestants who risk the loss of their humanity. It is all who watch."
--Publishers Weekly, Megan Whalen Turner, STARRED REVIEW


You still have few days to go see an awesome 3+ book Giveaway @ Missy's Read's & Reviews!
You don't want to miss out on the books that might drop in your main box from Book Depositary - that also means the Giveaway is international! If you blog, or read go have a look! Open until September 4th!

"I always like having excuses to have super awesome giveaways on here, so I promised myself that reaching 1000 Followers would be no exception to the rule. My 1st Annual Anniversary Celebration was pretty incredible and I wanted this one to be just as great, so I decided to wait until after my beach trip to announce this one -- that way, I'd have more time to brainstorm. I think I came up with some decent prize packs that you can win. So, are you ready? Let's get started!
Prize Packs
There are going to be FIVE themed prize packs that you can choose from. It's up to you how many you'd like to enter to win, so enter just one... or a few... or all of them! Each one has a specific theme and all the books in the prizes will come brand-spanking-new from Book Depository, which makes each and every one eligible to be INTERNATIONAL."


Friday Follow is hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read, this weeks feature is Caught in the Pages!
Anyone can join at either the hostesse's page, let's begin!

Question : In books like the Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) series the paranormal creature in question "comes out of the closet" and makes itself known to the world. Which mythical creature do you wish would come out of the closet, for real?

Answer : Oh fun! Let's think, it's a given that vampires would be amazing, but I doubt they'd be the paranormal Romance kind so that's nixed. Werewolves, bit too brutal. Ummm... I think I'd love to see angels, but I already know they are real so still searching... Shapeshifters! Yes, definately, people who can shift their shape to whatever they want (or with limitations that's good as well). Yes, if I had to pick one it'd be that, they are less likely to go nuts and kill a bunch of people. ;)
See the guy on the right, harmless right? ;D

What would be your choice?

Before you depart I'd like to mention I have a my first Giveaway ever on "For The Love of Reading!" that needs participants! It's a historical vampire PNR called "Caressed by Moonlight", a story of regency London, a woman, Victoria, desparate to marry so she can keep her little sister from falling in the hands of their wicked Aunt after their parents die, and of  a man, a vampire king who is dead set on getting Victoria into his bed. 5 e-books to giveaway! The International Giveaway is on until 14th of September.

Visit this page for Author Interview and the Giveaway! And good luck!

Thursday, August 25, 2011


Author: Juliana Garnett
Pages: 280 pages
Publisher: Loveswept / Random House Publishing Group
Published: August, 2011
Form: E-Book (Review Copy through NetGalley)
Amazon: Buy

"Sent by William of Normandy to quell a brazen Saxon rebellion, Luc Louvat believed his mission would be easily accomplished. For what foolish Saxon lord had any hope of triumphing against an army of seasoned Norman knights? But the great warrior was in for a shock. First he is surprised by the ferocious battle that had been waged and then by his adversary--a beautiful princess. Suddenly, Luc finds he's waging a dangerous new war--the war that threaten's the warrior's heart." ~Goodreads

1062. At sixteen Ceara is a woman in the eyes of countrymen but she is also considered a bad tempered she-wolf and possibly a women who conspires with the devil because of her bad temper and wicked tongue. She’s not pleased of the shaky truce with the Normans and tries to convince her father so, but for her being a woman she isn’t listened.

So the day comes when the Normans do arrive lead by Luc Louvat, a Knight without land, a bastard son of a Lord, if he can win Wulfridge from the stubborn Saxons he can keep it. But Wulfridge doesn’t fall easily, and it isn’t until the cunning wit of the Knight that they infiltrate the castle only to notice that they’d battled not against a Lord, but a Lord’s wicked daughter.

Ceara belittles and smites Luc with her wicked tongue and seriously tries his patience and gets him angrier than he has ever been, but there is something else about the fair-haired maiden that raises emotions, but it isn’t anything he wants to further explore. With as many tricks as Ceara has in her pocket he’s wise to be cautious as he begins to transport the Lord’s daughter to the King's court to lay her at his mercy.

But it turns out it’s not so easy to hate when you feel more elaborate emotions, electricity running between them drawing the two stubborn together, and the two fight to figure out what they want and what they need and wither those two just might intersect eventually and what would have to be sacrificed for that.

Ceara does seem her age in her emotions of invulnerability and in her teenage hormones, but she also has the side of a woman who has been through war and seen blood, and not being a stranger to a sword. She's not your frail maiden type, but an honest to god saxon warrior princess.
Luc comes off harsh and controlled but it’s yummy to read his resolves crack around her and her temper. She keeps tempting him, shunning him and purring for pleasure and it’s fun to see him control on how to react to her.

I love historical novels, there is something about the brute ways and swords and the knights taking what belongs to them, but doing it while falling in love with the heroine!

A temper filled, headstrong journey with passion that simmers to a boil as fast as you can draw your sword and hack down the enemy.

Rating :

Started Reading : 12th of Aug. 2011
Finished Reading : 25th of Aug. 2011
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...