None right now.
(all international & blog specific unless told otherwise, aka "U.S" only or "TW" aka Tour Wide)

Saturday, December 31, 2011


"When Beth boldly seduces Grey Sexton, a self-controlled merchant prince from New York, she finds herself too fascinated by his ice-over-fire nature to stay away. His possessive determination to own her, body and soul, threatens to expose her secret erotic life to public shame."

Author: Natasha Blackthorne
Pages: 65 pages
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Published: August, 2011
Form: E-book (from author for an honest review)
Genre: Historical Erotic Romance
Amazon: Buy / $3.48 (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $3.48 (Nook) 
All Romance Books: Buy / $4.36 (E-book)
Total-E-Bound: Buy / $4.50 ($3.92) (e-book)
Excerpt: 1st Chapter below the review!

"Seeking sexual excitement and conquest, poor but beautiful Beth seduces wealthy merchant prince Grey Sexton, only to find herself the pursued as he seeks to own her body and soul.

Flouting the moral standards of Jeffersonian America, temptress Beth McConnell lets no man touch her heart. Her motto is love them once and leave them burning.

But when she boldly seduces Grey Sexton, a self-controlled merchant prince from New York, she finds herself too fascinated by his ice-over-fire nature to stay away. His possessive determination to own her, body and soul, threatens to expose her secret erotic life to public shame.

But Beth will only surrender her love to a man she can trust. And Grey's materialistic approach to relationships leaves her little reason to believe he can ever give her what she truly needs.

For these two cynical yet lonely people, can deep sexual intimacy work a miracle and lead to the opening of their hearts?"

I loved this novella! Natasha Blackthorne has the style of an author who knows what she's writing, the novella isn't a show on what 1800's people used or dressed in, she just drops you into this world without the tedious tells of what, for example, pantaloons are. Why I mention this is because I loved it, I love just getting into the world without the unnecessary establishing in minutia of the world. See I love reading Historical Romances so when she states it's 1800's my mind is there, I know the rugged edges and the luxury so it's so much fun to just drop into the story and not have to be lectured on what is what.

I liked the plot a lot, two control driven individuals trying to get what they want until they come to such standoff that someone just has to give. Delicious!

I loved Beth, she's sassy, seductive and witty and she gives the uptight Grey a run for his money by not being what he expects women or lovers to be. The tension and attraction between the couple is tangible and the little cat-and-mouse they play with each other makes for a yummy read! And the love scenes are scorching hot!

This is a novella, and luckily there is a sequel because I most definitely want to spend more time with Grey and Beth! I hope you will too, there is an excerpt right below this review ( 18+ only - yes it gets bit naughty there ) and below the excerpt is chat transcript with the author - enjoy!

Rating :

(18+ Only Excerpt)

Chapter One
Philadelphia, PA
Spring, 1812
       Grey couldn’t keep his eyes off her. Philadelphian women were the cream of the Republic, but damn if this one didn’t exceed all previous definitions. Curling wisps of hair escaped from her indigo bonnet and trailed down her graceful neck. He’d never seen hair that colour—like champagne shimmering in the moonlight.
       She looked up, giving him his first full sight of her face. Sky blue eyes, full of aching, longing…and something else. Abject sadness. Haunting.
       Something caught in his chest. Something reminiscent of pleurisy. Well, it wasn’t surprising. Philadelphia air was notoriously insalubrious and the day was oppressively damp. He blinked, glancing away. Was he losing his wits? Haunting eyes? What romantic nonsense. If he didn’t know better, he’d think he was getting a fever.
       He glanced at his pocket watch. God, time was crawling. He’d arranged this series of lectures to entice potential investors, and last week in Boston had been most profitable. However, today, Mason’s Bookstore was packed with adolescent boys who sat with their mouths agape listening to local captains recount tales of privateering glory. His own speech on how and why to invest in a voyage had been met with yawns and bobbing heads. What a waste of an afternoon.
       Shifting in his seat, he sensed her gaze. Lingering. Burning him. Against his will, he turned back to her. Those eyes seemed to reach across the room, directly into him, to touch his emptiness.
       What a fanciful notion. His wits must be addled.
       She didn’t drop her gaze, as a modest woman might. Instead, she appraised him, boldly weighing and measuring. A hint of her tongue flirted along the seam of her pink lips. Her eyes smouldered as if she’d read his every erotic longing and fantasy in his face. He shifted again, trying to adjust for the heated blood rushing into his cock. The corners of her mouth turned up and humour glinted in her eyes. Clearly, she found his interest amusing. She found him amusing.
       By God, then, I’ll have her beneath me, writhing and begging me to fuck her.
       Damned if he wouldn’t.
       The fervour of his thoughts shocked him back to his senses. People were talking and laughing and moving around. The lecture was over. He got up to leave, but he found himself standing at the windows, transfixed by the rain sheeting down.
       “My goodness.” The breathy, feminine voice hit him low in his gut and he didn’t have to look to know who’d spoken. Something primal pounded through his blood. An urge to turn, grasp her by the back of her hair and kiss her with such brute force she would run.
       Shaken, he took several long, deep breaths before he trusted himself enough to turn to her. He looked down to where her head barely met his shoulder and suddenly he was drowning in those azure eyes.
       “It’s so hard, isn’t it?” she said in breathy, bedchamber tones.
       “Pardon me, Madam?”
       “The rain. It’s coming down so hard today. Buckets and buckets full.” Her voice sounded sincere but her eyes glimmered with mirth.
       “Yes, it is.” He kept his tone cool, polite.
       She stood so close his arm almost touched her breast. So close her tangy, sweet gardenia-like scent became intoxicating.
       “Pardon me, Madam, but do you have some question about investing in a privateer venture?”
       “Oh, no, they answered all my questions in the lecture.”
       “But how could they have? You came in after the part about investing.”
       “I didn’t really have any particular questions—I come to all the lectures here.” She glanced at the chalk board on the opposite wall, where the names of the lecturers were posted. “You are Mr Asahel de Grijs Sexton of New York?”
       “At your service.”
       “Your middle name means grey…like your eyes. Correct?”
       “Yes. It’s Dutch.” It had been his mother’s maiden name.
       “And you’re here to invest in privateering voyages for the expected war?” She took hold of the curtain’s thick, gold, braided cord.
       “I own some ships and take on investors. I also invest in other voyages. It’s a numbers game, for safety.”
       She gave a soft sigh… No, it was more like a moan. A lush, bedroom sound that made his lower belly tighten.
       “Well, I was wondering…” She caressed her fingers up and down the braided cord in a way that could only be described as suggestive. Sinfully so. Right here in the book store.
       A tide of lust like he had never felt before swept through his blood and stiffened his cock.
       “I—I was wondering…” She trailed her fingers one last time before she dropped the cord. A half-smile curved her lips.
       “Yes, Madam?” The steadiness of his voice amazed him.
       “Could you—” She drew her lashes down as she spread her lips in a slow, sensual smile. “Would you be so kind as to give me a ride in your carriage?”
       Her inflection left no doubt what kind of ride she meant.
       What true gentleman could disappoint a lady? He offered her his arm. “Come, then.”
       She raised fine, pale-gold brows. “I cannot be seen leaving here in your company.”
       “Then what?”
       “Drive around the block and wait there. I shall come along presently.”
       “It’s raining like the flood. You cannot walk in that.”
       “Do you think I shall melt?” Her deep and throaty laugh resonated deep in his balls.
       “I think a gentleman doesn’t expect a lady to walk in the rain.”
       She laughed again. “Oh, but I am not a lady.”
       “Don’t talk like that.” His harsh tone puzzled him. Where had it come from?
       “Did my fine silk gown fool you?” She plucked her coarse woollen skirt. Her fingerless nankeen gloves revealed digits reddened as though they habitually spent hours soaked in lye. The sharp contrast with her refined loveliness made his throat burn and he swallowed tightly.
       She sighed. He glanced up. Her eyes were sad again and her emotion seemed to touch him in places he’d forgotten had existed. Damn, she was beautiful. How many times had he repeated that today? God, he was making a jackass of himself. But what did she really want from him? She was bold, yes, but she lacked the hardened look of a girl on the town. Maybe poverty had forced her into temporary whoring.
       “You need money?” The hoarse terseness of his whisper surprised him.
       “I don’t want your money.” She turned her gaze to him. Bold, blue and full of unmistakable longing. “I only want a ride.”
* * * *

       Alone with her in the carriage, Grey took her hand and caressed it. Her fingers grated roughly against his. The burning sensation returned to his throat, making him cough. Her eyes were full of that earlier sadness. And longing. Compassion and sympathy flooded him, rendering him incapable of thinking clearly. Making him aware of his own sadness, the emptiness that had been with him so long he’d forgotten it was even there. It was getting to be unnerving. As if there was a cord attached to his innards that she could yank at will.
       What the devil was he getting into here?
       He kept his life orderly. Free of emotional entanglements and excess. He certainly never spent time indulging his more maudlin emotions. And yet, right now, the combination of sympathy and sexuality was overpowering. Irresistibly seductive.
       Maybe he was turning sick. Maybe he was lying in bed right now, delirious with fever.
       He squeezed her hand. “What is your name?”
       He exhaled her name, cupping her face and rubbing his thumbs over the hollows beneath her cheekbones. The sensation was pure luxury, the texture of her skin like satin cream.
       She closed her eyes, lifted her face. Barely aware he moved still closer, he felt her soft mouth under his with a sense of shock. She moaned and opened her mouth, all hot, wet and spicy-sweet, like mulled cider against his tongue.
       He moved his hands down her back against the coarse wool of her bodice, pulling her closer. The folds of his cravat rustled, crisply crushing. She cried out. Damn—his cravat pin. He leaned away, stripped his coat off, plucked out the offending pin and came back to her. She laughed and tugged at his cravat until it came loose. Her grip tight on the two loose ends, she pulled him close to her face and held him in place.
       Her taste was so intoxicating. He ravished her mouth without mercy. She returned his strokes measure for measure until they were forced to stop and pant for breath. Fuck, she was so intense. So willing and wanton and womanly. Her fire consumed him. Part of him—the gentlemanly part—watched appalled as he hooked his fingers around the damp hem of her coarse woollen skirt and pushed it up in one swift motion, baring her to the waist. She gasped, then laughed again.
       Her legs, milky white, long and lovely, parted to reveal the pale gold and pink shell of her cunt. He glided his fingertips over her inner thigh. Damn, she had amazing skin. The equal of any lady’s he’d touched. He slid his hand higher, into her apex. She pressed up to meet his fingers, writhing and drenching him with her honey.
       He slipped two fingers inside the irresistible, liquid heat. She clenched tight and his cock twitched with impatience. God, he had to be inside her. Now.
       She reached for the fall of his pantaloons but he shoved her hands away and wrenched his buttons open. He pressed her back into the plush velvet cushion, then positioned himself for entry. Her hips arched and she sheathed his length in one swift, slick slide. Her sharp cry pierced his ears and he brought his lips down swiftly on hers. She gripped his shoulders fiercely as he moved deep, fast, hard. Her hips met his, thrust for thrust. Her legs gripped his waist to propel him deeper, until the head of his cock banged against the mouth of her womb. At her appreciative cry he continued, fucking her with a brutal abandon.
       The smell of their sweat and sex filled the closed, humid carriage. This was what a fuck should be. Always.
       Her wet heat convulsed around his hardness, the waves of her pleasure long-lasting and violent. He must withdraw. Now. He tore his mouth away from hers as something between a groan and a sob forced its way past his lips. His whole body shuddered as he withdrew, releasing his seed on her thigh in furious jets.
       He touched his forehead to hers. “Dear God.”

* * * *

       Beth sat in the farthest corner of the carriage and cast a sideways glance at her dark-haired stranger. The angular cut of his cheekbones and strong, imperious jaw gave him an air of granite-hewn arrogance.
His pale grey eyes cut into her. Hidden behind her worldly-woman smile, her heart fluttered. As if she’d just experienced her first true kiss. As if she’d been truly touched for the first time.
       The horses’ hooves. The rain beating on the roof. The distant thunder. The rustle of her skirts as she drew her legs up underneath her. All of them sounded unnaturally loud.
       She felt raw, exposed, bleeding.
       And she had no one else to blame but herself.
       She’d gone to the lecture to meet him. He was an excellent conquest. Blue-blooded, obscenely wealthy, the owner of Sexton Shipping, politically connected and powerful. Once, when she’d been too young to know better, she’d allowed herself to be seduced by a wealthy gentleman. He had promised eternal love, then abandoned her. A bitter lesson but one she’d learnt well. Now she was the seducer. She was very particular, choosing the handsomest and wealthiest of men. To know she could tempt any man of her choosing, even dressed in her shabby clothes, added a perverse thrill, made her dizzy with power. Conquest and control often proved a headier thrill than love.
       Then, too, there was the erotic pleasure. She’d always been weak to her sensual drives. Her mother’s wild blood, some would say.
       But today it had not been only Sexton’s wealth or handsomeness that had drawn her. It had been the way his frosty eyes had cut into her, stripping her bare of all her secrets. And how they had warmed to silver, shining with such empathy. It was as if he knew her, as if he could see all her faults, all her weak longings and petty spites. Even the tears she shed at midnight, silently into her pillow. And he didn’t judge her for any of it. After that moment of rare soul-to-soul connection, she had to know him. And that had been the problem.
       Of course, he had succumbed. Men always did. But today had been different. Her need to experience him gave him a power over her that made her throat go dry and her palms slick. It was time to part ways. She always cut the strings after one encounter. Always left them wanting. It made the conquest all the sweeter.
       She flicked the curtain open and gazed out, trying to determine their location. There was nothing to see but the water and grey, rainy sky. She turned back to the gentleman. “Asahel—”
       “Grey.” His voice, deep and strong, reverberated in her stomach.
       “Grey, I am desperately late getting home.”
       He reached back and tapped the carriage wall. “You are not so very late. This normally takes longer.” He paused and grinned. “A lot longer.”
       “I think it was more than adequate.”
       His touch was gentle on her face. “I want to see you again.”
       Her eyes caressed his broad-shouldered, powerful yet elegant form. Longing tingled through her, so ardent that fear followed close on its heels. Her heart began to pound. She should never have started this.
       “You want to see me?” She laughed with affected lightness. “In the parlour, with my sister in attendance? Shall we have tea and biscuits, or do you prefer wine and cakes?”
       His eyes darkened and the tanned skin tightened over his cheekbones. “You want bluntness? All right. I want to fuck you again.”
       “It is very hard for me to get away.”
       “You must.” He moved closer, a lock of coal-black hair falling over his brow as he took her hand and pulled it to his lap. His erection felt huge and throbbing beneath the nankeen cloth. Again. Already. She closed her eyes and gripped him as tightly as the fabric would allow, her cunt clenching at the recollection of the mind-drugging effect of his lovemaking. A woman could become a slave to this sort of passion.
       “I shall be staying at City Tavern. All month.”
       His eyes sparkled, making her stomach bottom out.
       He described small circles on her palm. “You must come and see me, and soon, too. You must promise—cross your heart.” He traced an X across her left breast.
       She arched up and put her lips upon his. As she kissed him in a long, leisurely fashion, her hand slid up to his chest to feel his heart racing beneath. And why shouldn’t it? She was very good at goodbyes.

Author Chat!

Niina : Welcome to "For The Love of Reading’s" Author Chat Natasha, glad you could stop by!

Natasha Blackthorne : It is a pleasure to be here.

Niina : I’m in Helsinki (Finland) it’s 7AM and I’m having a cup of rose hip tea – where are you and what are you up to/surrounded by?

Natasha :  I am in the USA. It is evening here and dark outside. I am drinking cream soda and listening to music. I have been writing this evening. I just had sweet potatoes and fish for dinner.

Niina : What music are you currently into?

Natasha :  I was just now listening to Christmas music, the Choir of Clare College, Cambridge.  But I like a lot of different music. It depends on my mood.I spend most of my day surrounded by music. I like Baroque and Classical, Old School R&B, New Wave, Soft Rock from 70&80s, Baroque Pop, 90s jazz-funk/dance, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, disco and funk, oldies from the 40s-60s, Reggae, Folk, Blue Grass, old style country and western.

Niina : Now to your books! Your books 1 and 2 in the Carte Blanche Series “Grey’s Lady” and “White Lace and Promises”  are out now, how would you describe the books?

Natasha : These are American set Regency romances that are character driven and the conflict between the  two main characters, Beth and Grey comes more from their internal drives, beliefs and issues than from external sources.

Grey’s Lady is the story of a wealthy New York merchant price, Grey Sexton, who falls for a poor but beautiful seductress, Beth McConnell. Yet, for all their social and economic differences, at their most basic level, Beth and Grey are very similar. This story explores how these similarities threaten to tear them apart before love can overcome the fear of being vulnerable.

Both Beth and Grey suffered isolation and emotional neglect in childhood. Grey grew up as a privileged only son, heir to Sexton Shipping, one of the fledgling nation’s largest mercantile fleets. Grey’s father was a stern businessman who did not understand his daydreaming son and held him at a distance. A child in this position might take solace in a closer relationship with his mother. However, Grey’s mother was chronically ill and unable to bear his childish energy. She kept to her chambers and died while he was still quite young. Later at age nineteen, Grey engaged in an emotionally scarring experience with a slightly older woman, something that is not covered in Grey’s Lady. All of these back story issues and how they affect their relationship are explored in more depth in the sequel, White Lace and Promises.

In contrast, the focus of Grey’s Lady is on the immediate interaction between two wounded and self-protective people who feel an overpowering attraction to each other but who do not want to admit it to themselves or the other.

Niina : I have to say I absolutely loved "Grey's Lady"! Now third book in the series “Alex’s Angel” is coming out in February 2012, what can we expect from the new “cast”?

Natasha : The third book in the Carte Blanche series is a full-length novel titled Alex’s Angel and it takes place in Philadelphia in 1793. The heroine is a young woman who has been sheltered. She’s artistic, a bit a crusader, very sensual and strong-minded with very definite ideas about her art. It’s a very erotic and emotional. It is scheduled for release on February 28, 2012. Here is a short blurb: In the wake of a devastating epidemic, sheltered Emily Eliot finds herself alone, making her own decisions for the first time. When desperation leads her to sell her virtue, she walks straight into trouble.

Enter one gorgeous, golden haired gentleman bent on protecting her…Alexander Dalton came to the Blue Duck Tavern seeking to lose himself in sexual pleasure. Yet when he saw the delicate and vulnerable young woman, he couldn’t turn away. But he needs her to believe in him a lot more than she needs his protection…Alex’s charming smile hides a dark secret that could destroy their chance at happiness. Will their passion burn them up or bring them together?

Niina : Sound good! In “Grey’s Lady” Beth has taken her pleasure into her own hands – a form of taking control of her life – how much fun was it writing a temptress?

Natasha : I loved writing her character. This temptress role is a secret life, a part of herself that she hides from the people who think they know her best. She only shows it to her gentlemen.  But Beth is a complex person. Much of her internal conflict in White Lace and Promises comes from the sudden collision of these two words, her everyday life and her secret life. Elizabeth, the good and Beth the bad. Grey will be the first person to know her in both roles. That's a very threatening thing for her to cope with.

Niina : And then there is Grey Sexton a man who enjoys his control and isn’t willing to give it to Beth, what do you think makes a man with an attitude (and arrogance) sexy?

Natasha : Maybe it is the challenge of breaking through that control. Or maybe it is the power that a man commands if he can control himself and focus on his goals.

Niina : Agreed! Man with that focus definitely has that something. ;) What made you choose Erotic Historical Romance as your preferred genre?

Natasha : I am in love with history. It is the humanity of historical people that draws me. Not their highest achievement but the life of their hearts. Their little human imperfections and blind spots. The things they wanted most but could not have and how they dealt with that. Their sorrows and their joys. I enjoy exploring history at a very personal level. I enjoy reading biographies, letters, diaries and things like this.

There are some very passionate stories from this time in real history told through letters and other personal accounts. Sometimes so little is said but the words chosen are so powerful that emotion leaks in between the lines. In reading their stories, I begin to feel so deeply for these people. So for me, it’s really a natural thing to go into a deeply personal type of storytelling about the periods of history that interest me the most. And what is more personal than erotic love? Especially if is erotic love that is able to break through people’s self defenses and bring real change into their lives.

I prefer to write about the deepest interaction between two people in this way.

Niina : What chapter, or scene, did you most enjoyed writing and why?

Natasha : I enjoyed writing the whole novel very much. The first scene is special to me. That was how the story came to me. I had been studying the period, the location deeply. Reading a lot about the merchants and their lives. Grey as a character came to me and showed me this moment in the Philadelphia bookseller’s when he made eye contact with this woman who had sad eyes. He’s pierced by her look, flooded by his own emotions. He is a person who prefers to avoid emotion in himself and others. He’d like to run. But he can’t look away. She came closer to him and engaged him in a very bold way. A way he couldn’t possibly ignore. There was no escape from the feelings she evoked in him. His life is changed forever in that moment and he doesn't even know it yet.

Niina : I loved the beginning as well! Which character in your book became your favorite?

Natasha : I love them both.

Niina : Hard to choose, right, when they are both great? ;)

Natasha : Yes, I don't have a favorite between them. Beth was more complex than Grey.

Niina : Now what makes for an awesome hero, and heroine?

Natasha :  I am not sure that's a question that can be answered simply. Different characters are appealing for different reasons. In my novella, Waltz of Seduction, the heroine is very shy, very unsure of her place in the world. But she knows what she wants and she's quietly determined to get it. However, she's a very different character than Beth. I enjoyed writing her as much as Beth.

Niina : What about your lead characters Beth, or Grey, makes you go, “oh don’t do that!”?

Natasha : I suppose it is that they are so very stubborn and determined not to change. But it is hard to feel impatient with them because of understanding them at a deep level. I see why they do what they do even when they do not.

Niina : Now to more personal questions! Your Top 3 bad boys in fiction?

Natasha : Heathcliff, Edward Rochester, Valmont from Dangerous Liaisons

Niina : Ah, classics! Name three physically closest books to you?

Natasha : Hands and Hearts: A History of Courtship in America by Ellen K. Rothman
Gotham: A History of New York City by Edwin Burrows
A History of New York From the Beginning of World by Washington Irving
This is my writing area so I don't have any fiction books here really.

Niina : We are just past Christmas and coming towards New Years! Did you get any cool gifts and is there a New Year’s resolution you’re making?

Natasha : I got some dark red flannel sheets, several comfortable cotton t-shirt dresses and several books. I am happy. Me and my husband had a nice quiet Christmas and I have been busy writing a short story for next summer.
I guess my New Year's resolution is to be more organized here around the house.

Niina : Artistic people don't need to be organized. ;) If you could time-travel where and what age would you hit first? (after all if one can time-travel they rarely stay in one place ;) )

Natasha : I am fascinated mostly with the time period from 1600 to 1840 AD, so I would pick different times all during that timeframe.

Niina : Now, what's the best part about being an author? And what’s the worst?

Natasha : Writing is just something I had to do. I didn't have a choice in it. Characters tell me their stories and pressure me to capture them. It is a drive that can't be ignored for long. There's a lot of hard work trying to capture the scenes as they are and not to impose my own will on them. That's usually how I get into trouble. So that's the worst part, learning to get out of my own way. The best part is when I succeed at this and can just let the stories flow as they should. 

Niina : Okay, before we finish here are some Quick Fire Question:

Cats or dogs?  Cats. I adore cats.
Coffee or tea?  I don't have a preference.
Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?  Milk chocolate but I prefer white chocolate.
Beach or forest?  Forest
Night or day?  Definately night
Bad boys or good cops? I always like nice guys, lol. I can be bad enough for both of us.
Brunettes or Blonds?  It depends on the man.
Vampires or werewolves?  vampires
Romance or erotica? I prefer erotic romance. So that's a hard question to answer.
Men:  Alpha-male or submissive? Alpha male
Male POV or female POV (Point Of View)?  I don't value one over the other, I like to get both sides in a story.
Pick-up or Mini-van?  Mini-van, it is more comfortable.
Beer or Wine? Wine
Pizza or Restaurant?  Pizza
Cake or Donuts? Cake
Movies: Romantic comedies or Action/Adventure? Romantic comedies
Winter or Summer? Winter
Times New Roman or Courier?  TNR
Crayons or markers? markers

Niina : Final question! What are you currently working on?

Natasha : I am working on an erotic romance novella set in Colonial America

Niina : Thanks for visiting the “For The Love of Reading!” Natasha, hope you visit again soon!

Natasha : Thank you so much for having me here today. I enjoyed it very much. :)

I have always been a daydreamer who told myself stories of love and romance set in other times and places for my own pleasure. Eventually my story worlds became so real, they demanded to be brought out of my imagination and onto the page. It gives me great joy to finally share them with you. I hope you enjoy my story world.

I am married to my own hero and we share our life with a very quirky calico cat. I have a B.A. in History and I love to read both romance and scholarly history and I listen to a variety of music from classical to reggae. But mostly I am hard at work writing my next story.

Email / Blog:

I highly recommend you go get your copy of Grey's Lady if you love Regency Romance, Historical Romance and feisty heroines!

Friday, December 30, 2011


"Sienna Caldwell wants to trust her father’s decision to marry her to the charming playboy, but realizes the life she yearns for may never be hers. Faced with secrets upon secrets, she can do nothing to change the future. With her father’s blessing she puts herself into the handsome Drake’s care. "

Author: Kenya Carlton
Pages: 184 pages
Publisher: Self Published
Published: September, 2011
Form: E-book (received from the tour for a honest review)
Genre: Paranormal Romance   
Amazon: Buy / $10.92 (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $11.65 (paperback) 
All Romance Books: Buy / $7.50 (E-book)
Excerpt: Checking Out the Coffins

"The rich and available Captain Drake Devilin had the biggest body count in World War I.  Injected with serum that turned him into something unnatural, Drake’s troop annihilated the enemy, but once his tour ended, Drake was plunged into a world of family tragedy and financial ruin. 

 Sienna Caldwell is stunning to even the biggest cynic; with her exotic looks and rich brown skin, the playboy wasn’t exempt from her charms.  Buckling under the pressure of his financially strapped inheritance, Drake makes a deal with the devil to marry the prosperous landowner in order to protect her. 

After one year, he can return the black beauty back to her island and collect on the fortune that will save his family’s reputation, but the task proves far easier said than done.   The war may have made Drake into something lethal, but he soon finds his new bride was born more powerful than he could ever imagine.  Not only does Drake have to figure out away to keep his hands off his alluring wife, but also he has to make sure she stays alive."

April 13, 1933

Sienna Caldwell stopped what she was doing as a subtle breeze blew through her cottage window. She turned her head toward the whimsical embrace of nature.

“Why must we stay on this side of the island?” Maddie Fletcher groaned breaking her fleeting joy of basking in the moment. “All the action is at the resort.” The blonde minx stood in the middle of the room in nothing but lacy bra and panties, sporting one heck of a pout. The tips of her areolas spilled over the rim of her bra but Maddie could care less. All Maddie ever cared about was her current boredom and not being held a prisoner to that state of being.

“It’s nice over here,” Sienna said continuing to unpack. Since Maddie’s antsy behavior would lead to nothing but trouble, Sienna tried to think of something to distract her. In their special language she whispered a riddle.

“How long this time?” Maddie moaned determined not to be deterred.

“I don’t know what Moses is up to Mads. We’ll leave lickety-split once we get down to the root of the matter.” Maddie flopped on top of Sienna’s freshly made bed, purposely rumpling the sheets to annoy her.

“Swear,” Maddie cooed.

“Pinky swear,” Sienna agreed as they blew air kisses at one another from a distance.

“Excuse me, ma’am.” They stopped playing long enough to acknowledge the bell hop who entered the cottage. “Lord Eden has requested your presence at 4:00 p.m. sharp,” he told them with his eyes averted down.

“You’re new.” Maddie took notice as she bounced off the bed and tiptoed across the marble floor toward the boy. The servant dipped his head away as Maddie began to circle around him. “What’s your name?”


“That’s certainly a nice name,” Maddie said.

“Thank you, ma’am,” he muttered shyly as a blush of crimson kissed his brown cheeks.

“Are you a nice boy, Benjamin?” Maddie trailed her bright red nail across the front of his crisp white shirt as her sea green eyes glittered with unabashed glee.

“I hope so,” he stuttered.

“Time will tell, Benjamin, time will tell.”

“Is there anything else?” Sienna cut in, trying to save the boy from disaster.

“No, ma’am.” Rightfully flustered by Maddie’s naughty antics, Benjamin knocked into Sienna’s antique table causing her Ming vase to topple over. He quickly caught Moses priceless gift, breathing in a sigh of relief before it could crash onto the floor.

“How odd.” Maddie twirled her honey blonde curl around her finger as she watched the young man depart in a furious rush.

“What is?” Sienna joined her at the door to catch another wisp of a breeze. She closed her eyes to allow the wind to wash the sweet aroma of the island over her face.

“Poor ole Benjamin is in love and it’s not with either one of us.”

“It is possible for a man to love a woman and it not be either one of us?” Sienna told her best friend.

“Is it?” Maddie seemed puzzled by the thought. “I wanna come with you to see your father.” Finally done analyzing the idea someone could resist her since no one usually could, Maddie set her sights on Moses.

“Only if you promise to behave,” Sienna warned her, knowing full well she shouldn’t bring her along.

“No guarantees.”

Already on to her next task, Maddie crossed the room to the door. “If I’m to have fun, then I must go change.”

Sienna had other plans. Arriving only that morning, she craved a swim. “I think I’m going to take a dip in the falls.” Hoping the calm springs would help rid her of the creepy crawly needles of dread that had been plaguing her all day.

“Good,” Maddie absently replied. “I’ll come get you when it’s time to see your father.” Already off into her own world, Maddie slinked out the door like a naughty kitty with only her fancy underwear for protection.

Drake Devilin stood with what was left of his squad from the war outside the white mansion that spanned at least a mile. He stood in awe. The enormous plantation house made the Parrot Island Resort look like a poor relation. Unsure what his grandfather was getting him into he reached out with other senses. His nose picked up other animals somewhere on the vast land. Drake also picked out the scent of his grandfather along with a very strong whiff of something unfamiliar.

“What the hell is this place?” Peter Murphy’s thoughts mirrored Drake’s own.

“Please follow me, gentlemen,” a slip of a woman directed them to a trail around the house. Another servant opened the wrought iron gate that led to a garden.

Singing birds serenaded them from the branches of surrounding moss trees, while yellow, blue, and lilac bells painted them a pretty palette of colors. At the center of the garden was a white gazebo. Since no one wanted to shatter the initial shock of the peaceful serenity they quietly took in the amazing scene. Shiny crystals of the rare variety hung from the gazebo’s white trim, giving off a melodious tinkle of sound that complimented the flow of racing waters nearby.

“Good afternoon, gentlemen.” An exotic china doll spoke to them in stilted English as she entered the garden.

Drake’s cousin Grey Devilin laughed at the sight of her. “This gets better and better.” He giggled.

“Please join me.” Her hand fanned out as she bowed to them. “Please.” Beating everyone to the punch Barker was first in line. Since Drake knew him to be a sucker for raven hair and pale skin, he was not at all surprised. “Not you, sir.” She stopped Drake with a nod of her head directed toward the gazebo that housed Hastings.

“Hello to you, too, Grandpappy,” Grey sang once he caught sight of Hastings. Since Drake’s Grandfather from his mother side and Grey got along about as well as oil and water. He put his hand on his cousin’s chest and stopped him in his tracks.

“Not today, Grey.”

“Let us have our say then, Drake.” Grey seethed through clenched teeth burning for a fight. “The blood through my veins is the reason he hates me. Your father, my uncle, wasn’t the reason why his precious daughter died.” The plain way Grey spat out his bile about Drake’s mother made his cousin’s words all the more vicious.

“And you feel the old man needs to hear all of this.”

“Yes,” Grey replied, trying his best to get past, Drake was forced to snatch him back.

“You are to go with this nice woman and enjoy whatever it is she would like to show you with any thoughts about confronting my grandfather forgotten.”

“We’re not in the military anymore. I no longer take orders from you.”

“Then let me say this differently,” Drake hissed. “If you say one cross word to that old man, I will beat you silly. Now go.” He shoved his cousin in the opposite direction.

Grey hesitated a moment longer before smoothing away any wrinkles Drake may have caused to his suit.

Murphy who also seemed reluctant to leave nodded his head before following the group from the garden.

“What the hell took you so long?” Hasting bellowed over the rushing water, when Drake approached. He honestly could admit he had never seen the old man look happier.

 Movie adaptations of books

This is a touchy subject for readers and authors alike. Whenever I hear that a book I love is being made into a movie, the news makes me inwardly groan.  Who will play the main characters? Will the screen adaptation be anything like the book?  Is this going to hurt like a tetanus shot? (Yes, I’ve actually thought that before).  Authors love the thought of their masterpiece on the big screen until their fans hate the final result then the finger pointing begins.  Well I’ve decided to compile a tiny list of books that worked as movies, books that didn’t work, and a few books that hopefully should.

Didn’t work:

Strip Tease; Carl Hiaasen: This author’s books are simply a tickle but the transition Strip Tease the novel took from the written word to film was a hot flaming mess. I actually saw the movie first and hated it so much I had to read the book. ( I know backwards, don’t question it ) The book gets two thumbs up and the movie gets no thumbs at all.

Phantoms and Hideaway; Dean R Koontz:  This author gets a double whammy.  For both of these movies the entire way through I kept thinking did I read this book. These movies are like nothing I remember reading, no seriously, did I read this book. Well the answer is yes I read the books but the films were so unrecognizable from the novel that it didn’t look familiar at all. So my question to the filmmakers would be, “Did you read the books?”

( Captain’s log: I understand the term based on the novel but these movies were so far from the novels that if I was Dean R. Koontz I would have begged the studios to take my name off the credits and put the infamous screenwriter Bud Weiser’s instead )

Beloved; Toni Morrison: What worked about Beloved as a book was not knowing if Sethe the main character was being haunted by the ghost of her dead daughter or if she was actually losing her mind.  What didn’t work about the movie was the lack of tangible proof that Sethe was being haunted or was indeed losing her mind.  The power of the imagination was at its finest with Toni Morrison’s lyrically crafted word that no matter how you sliced it the reader empathized with Sethe who was in the grips of a spiraling depression.  Unfortunately the blurred line of reality and spirituality couldn’t be duplicated for the big screen.

What Worked:

Interview with a Vampire, The Vampire Chronicles; Anne Rice: This film was epic, beautiful, and moody just like the novel.  At the time the choice for Tom Cruise as Vampire Lestat was weird but now looking back considering how hard it is for Tom Cruise to appear normal the casting was spot on.

Kiss the Girls; James Patterson: This movie worked so well that many films tried to replicate the chemistry between Morgan Freeman and Ashley Judd to no avail. Suspenseful and precise James Patterson’s Alex Cross character came to life on screen.

The Color Purple; Alice Walker: A great book and a majestic film in everyway. Cinematography, coloring, and acting make this movie stand up against the test of time. To this day I will tear up anytime I watch the end where Nettie calls out to her sister and Celia calls her right back.

Honorable mention: The Shining; Stephen King:  I would hands down add Stanley Kubrick’s The Shining to any and all films to watch list.  His version is the perfect example of the correct amount of creative license that filmmakers need to take with a best selling book. On the other hand the made for TV version of The Shining showed exactly why Stanley Kubrick’s version worked so well.

Books that should be made into movies:

Bag of Bones; Stephen King: I’ve just found out that Bag of Bones will finally hit my small screen in December on A&E; This little bit of info thrills me. I’ve always thought this book needed to be a movie and years and years later I finally got my wish.

Odd Thomas; Dean R Koontz: I love the Odd Thomas series so much that I keep the books. Let me explain I am a chronic library donator but The Odd Thomas series stays with me. The first film is slated to be released 2012. Yah!

Ghost Hunter Series; Victoria Laurie:  Done the right way these could be the cutest paranormal series brought to the big screen. Lifetime Television, anyone?

Writer disclaiming if any and all my suggestions suck on film then I will distance myself from this blog long enough to throw tomatoes at the screen with you.  What are your favorites books brought to life or worse books seen on the big screen let me know?

Can't say this was exactly my kind of book, but I enjoed the story, it was yummy and  hot and had a good amount of tension between Sienna and Drake to cause flames.

I liked the experiments that were done on Drake and his men, eventually turning them into werewolves, it was a nice original twist. Sienna was a voice of reason and a pleasure to read.

You'll like this if... you enjoy a historical feel to your stories, like a paranormal twist and lost of yummy romance!

Rating : 


I founded For The Love of Reading on June 30th this year!

I wanted to finally review the books I've been reading because I felt this urge to talk about the books  I finished and as I wasn't part of any book club and my choice for book Historical Romance/Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy in english aren't popular with the people I hang out with so I decided to take it up online! This way I get to come out and say what I though of my most recent read and have some comment as well.

Here is my 1st Review online, ever! Dark Lover by J.R. Ward!
So far For The Love of Reading has seen the following action, according to Blogger Stats:
18243 pageviews - 295 posts351 followers!

What I wasn't expecting was the fun I was going to have with the Tours, how many great indie writers I was going to meet, of which few I count as friends now. :) I also fell in love with NetGalley and Harlequin combo and they loved me back with a free range on all their titles there!

1 year anniversary coming on June 30th in 2012!

Happy 6 month Anniversary Blog!


This weeks question : The New Year is here — and everyone wants to know your New Years Blogging Resolution! What are you going to try to revise, revamp and redo for 2012 on your blog?

"If you are new to the #FF fun, Feature & Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts,  Parajunkee's View and Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it’ll allow us to show off more new blogs! Features this week are: Kristin Can Read & Ex Libris!
Answer : Okay, I my blog is only 6 months old, exactly today December 30th! ( congrats can be shared here as well! :D )
My new years resoluteion blog wise would be to keep my momentum going, still post daily, but I have decided to accept little less reviews and focus on book that I have been meaning to read. :)
Still lots of excerpts, guest blogs, interviews and occasional cover reveals! And connecting even more with my fellow bloggers!

First & Last: What was the first book you read in 2011 and the last you finished in 2011? How do you feel about these books?
Would you recommend them to other readers?

TGIF at GReads is a Friday Feature hosted by Ginger at!

Now I really have to recall the first book I read this year... yikes, I wasn't book blogging then so give me a moment...  Oh I got it! 
Haukka, minun rakkaani (Hawk, my love) by Kaari Utrio
1376. A love story set in the finnish middle ages where a young timid widow escapes her evil stepson and his plan to marry her to a sadistic german mercenery - as she runs away with her hunting hawk and her hawk's keeper she runs into Daniel a wealthy merchant who pulls her out of a frozen lake and warms her body with his, all night.
As he and his company of men return Blanca to her father Daniel has decided to marry her, but she she complitely humiliated by what happened when he fished her out of the icy water she rejects him. But he doesn't give up and follows her and seduces her - and finally manages to manipulate her to marry him for his help in a war. But she's still the same timid and kind woman and Daniel's sister in law is determined not to have the little chick in her house hold, forcing Blanca to either grow or die. And what will Daniel do when he feels his wife is shrinking away from him after he though they had finally begun to love ach other. 
If you are finnish, you must read this it is awesome.
If you speak english there are english copies around but non currently at print so you'd have to reallt search for one but it would be worth it these are so good.

Hunter by Gennita Low (Crossfire #2)
I'm reading this but most likely won'ty finish before Sunday 1st.
I really am enjoy this, it's fast pace the characters are very interesting the sexual tension cat and mouse game is fun while the frug and sex slave trafficking is creepy as hell and make me nauseuous. 

Very good book, recommend it and can't wait to read more of Gennita Low's Crossfire series!

It's Friday everyone! Have a great week!

Thursday, December 29, 2011


"Justin has had enough. Ella, the woman who healed his broken heart, has been cancelling on him for two months straight. Sure, she’s busy with her job, which has her traveling far and wide. But that never stopped her from sharing nights of trivia, long conversations and blazing hot sex—until now. "

Author: Lissa Matthews
Pages: 220 pages
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Published: December, 2011
Form: E-book (from author for an honest review)
Genre: Contemporary Cowboy / Erotic Romance
Amazon: Buy / $3.99 (Kindle)EU price, click to see yours )
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $3.69 (Nook) 
All Romance Books: Buy / $4.50 (E-book)
Samhain: Buy / $4.50 (e-book)
Excerpt: 20 h behind the wheel

Justin has had it, Ella has been avoiding him for the past two months after getting him hooked with hour long talks over the phone and some pretty mind-blowing sex. So, he does what any man would ( or atleast any cowboy ) and get's in his truck and drives ten hours to knock on her door.

Ella is protecting herself, nothing as great as what she's been having with Justin, ten years her junior, can last so she though she'd stop keeping in touch and save herself the heartbreak, but now he stands in door way with a wicked grin, rope and determination to get her to come stay with him for three days. With his manipulative tactics ( read things get plenty hot ) at use she finds herself agreeing to give him three days - what she doesn't know is he's planning to make her see that he's going nowhere without her.

      “Okay. Hand me the bag you’re holding.” She held it out to him and he stowed it with her others. “Anything else?” He asked, looking around.
     “Nope. Just me.”
     “Come on, then. You’re the most important thing.” He gestured for her, and she stepped down and met him at the passenger door. He blocked the opening with his body. “Take your panties off.”
     Her eyes widened then narrowed as her brow furrowed. “What? Justin, I can’t do that.”
     “You been full of more can’ts today… Why not?”
     “Not out here in the parking lot. You should have said something back in the apartment.”
     “Would you have done it then?”
     She hesitated. Part of her said yes, she would have. Another part of her said no, she wouldn’t. A third part of her didn’t want anything to do with the argument. “I can’t do it out here,” she protested again. “What if my neighbors see?”
     “No one can see you at this angle. They can only see your feet, and if you’re quick about it…” He shrugged. “You’re not getting in my truck until those panties are off.”

Great writing by Lissa Matthews! She keeps things easy, fun and smart ass with the story of a cowboy and a city girl getting their hearts tangled in a book filled with sexual tension, witty lines and emotional package finally getting released. Great job Ms. Matthews this book was easy and fun to read!

Okay Justin is quite the hottie, he's bossy, determined, possessive and likes his control especially in the bed room, and whoa! does that make the book a spicy read! This cowboy definitely knows what he wants and isn't afraid to get it, and he wants Ella, in his bed, by his side, in his home... he wants her heart and soul and knows his already belongs to her if she'd just look up and see it.

Ella is the bit tense, worrying, wound tight kind of girl, but when with Justin she comes to life, breaks from the bad marriage that came to an end. She's been used, she's been ignored and the pain of it doesn't let her get close to anyone and the fact that she begins to clung to Justin for her life high terrifies her. It was interesting to read how she finally began to give a little.

Okay so I have to talk sex here - hello! what's hot? A possessive cowboy who likes things rough and his girl twisting and withering underneath him. There are some truly hot scenes in this book, every once in a while between the sweet and witty scenes are these sizzling hot bedroom scenes that don't shy away from little ropin' and spanking. Oh boy! This won't leave you cold for sure!

You'll like this if... you love sexy cowboys with possessive streaks and a love story with wounded hearts being healed.

Rating :

Wednesday, December 28, 2011


"And when Veronica meets the unearthly handsome Christian Dale, the agency's odd acronym V.A.M.P begins to take on a whole new meaning. Tackling her sister's wedding actually starts to seem like a piece of cake . . ."

Author: Linda Thomas-Sundstrom
Pages: 89 pages
Publisher: Self Published
Published: June, 2011
Form: E-book (from personal library)
Genre: Paranormal Romance / Chick-Lit
Amazon: Buy / $0.99 (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $0.99 (Nook) 
All Romance Books: Buy / $0.99 (E-book)
Excerpt: Checking Out the Coffins

Veronica has to get a date to her evil sister's wedding or she'll never hear the end of it, so she does what she never thought she'd do, hire and escort. Her co-worker directs her to V.A.M.P. Inc, and when she gets there she's guided to 8 coffins with pictures on top, she's about to bolt ( she's not into the Hollywood gimmick dating ) but gives the coffins a polite go to not upset the saleslady.

The picture of the guy in coffin three gets her blood pumping and she can't help but be drawn to the guys and she reluctantly says yes to hire Christian dale as her escort for the wedding. Next evening Christian arrives to take her to the evening wedding and the attraction is instant, undeniable and bloody hell, hot! Focusing on keeping her legs crossed the pair takes to the limo. Sure the guy insist being a vampire - though being very modest about it but not packing out of it - and Veronica tries to get him to take his fangs off, so they won't spoil the wedding.

As it turns out, the fangs aren't fake, neither is Christian and most certainly neither is the lust boiling between them... there is more than dating going on, but only he knows what it is.

    "Her rent-a-date looked her over attentively, complitely tuned in. When her eyes met his, Veronica experienced another wobble. It felt suddenly as though curtain had gone up between them, revealing something relevant that had been long buried, though she didn't know what exactly.
     She heard an audible click of whatever it was snapping into place between them, and felt the oncoming rush of an even bigger wave of heat. A tingling sensation crept up her arms and across her shoulders, with the concentrated impact of a traveling space heater.    
     She looked away first then pulled her knees so tightly together, both inner thighs cramped up.    
     "Are these seats heated?" She asked bit too quickly, too loudly, aware that her skirt had hiked up to mid thigh and that her stockings were showing lace."

This book was an absolute joy to read! Veronica and the Vampire is fun, witty, sexy and sweet at the same time! I loved how easy and fun this was to read, I loved Veronica's cheerfully quirky attitude and her downright freak-outs about the wedding.

I loved how Christian didn't have to do much to be her rock and her hard place, ummm bun intended. ;) I loved how he wasn't overly moody vampire, he was a guy looking for a girl and when he finally found her he just seemed happy ( yay! for the lack of angsty vamp for a while! ), and well… sizzlingly sexy while being happy. ;)

The story was interesting, veronica was genuinely upset because of her family, it didn't feel fluffy or superficial panic but down to the core kind of unease, very well done. Her sister really was a bitch and the wedding horrifying to Veronica even though she had Christian by her side.

This 90 page book didn't have a dull moment in it! The story was fast-pace, interesting, well put together and had plenty of action be it confrontation, sexual tension or a amusing meltdown. I would categorize this as a sweet romance as it didn't have sex in it - but it sure was a hot read with Veronica's urges to jump Christian's bones quite adamant.

You'll like this if... you like your romances sweet, filled with sexual tension, funny and witty in the Chic-Lit style and with a powerful, hot, vampire to boot.

Rating :

Tuesday, December 27, 2011


  "Meet Vivian. She’s a 580-year-old vampire who exudes sex, has a talent for drama, and is passionate about two things: her human husband, Rafe, and their resort for the undead. Her ability to project physical illusions has created the perfect vacation spot—a dark, isolated Alaskan hideaway where visitors can have their wildest fantasies come true."

Author: C.J. Ellisson
Pages: 296 pages
Publisher: Red Hot Publishing
Published: October, 2010
Form: E-book (review copy through the tour for an honest review)
Series: The VV Inn #1
Genre: Paranormal Romance / Urban Fantasy / Erotic Romance
Amazon: Buy / $3.44 (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $3.99 (Nook) 
All Romance Books: Buy / $4.99 (E-book)
Excerpt: Chapter 1

"Meet Vivian. She’s a 580-year-old vampire who exudes sex, has a talent for drama, and is passionate about two things: her human husband, Rafe, and their resort for the undead. Her ability to project physical illusions has created the perfect vacation spot—a dark, isolated Alaskan hideaway where visitors can have their wildest fantasies come true.

Vivian knows the best performance requires perfect timing, but the powerful vamp is put to the test when she discovers a corpse in a locked guestroom minutes before the next arrivals. Always cool-headed, Rafe hides the body, convinced he and Vivian can find the culprit without disturbing their guests.

Juggling the increasingly outrageous demands of their customers while tracking a killer isn’t easy. Will their poking and prodding give them the answers they need, or will it uncover secrets Vivian would kill to protect?

Warning: This book contains some explicit sex scenes, intended for mature readers only."

A fun and witty vampire read! C.J. Ellisson creates a dark Alaskan world with a resort specializing in entertaining their vampire guests wither in arts of pleasure or just getting them to winddown. I liked Vivian who runs a tight ship, she's spunky, little haphazard at time and verocious when needed - she takes no bull and expects respect, but with a goofy, fun streak she's a fun character!

Her mate Rafe, is a human who's come to have vampires speed and strength and immortality through Vivian's blood. Rafe is a nice spice to the story, he help Vivian set the mood and manipulate the minds of the guest to be riskier, more hot wired and he lends a hand in setting the mood for Viv's matchmaking.

The plots interesting, the book starts as a murder mystery, who-done-it when a body is found in one of the rooms, a human no one recognizes, a sent of a stranger vampire lingers in the air. Vivian takes it upon herself to figure out the killer to the amusement of her mate Rafe and companion were Jon. Viv shrugs off their chuckling at her and accuired some help, determined to catch the killer.

Rating :

Author: C.J. Ellisson
Pages: 298 pages
Publisher: Red Hot Publishing
Published: July, 2011
Form: E-book (review copy through the tour for an honest review)
Series: The VV Inn #2
Genre: Paranormal Romance / Urban Fantasy / Erotic Romance
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $2.99 (Nook) 
All Romance Books: Buy / $3.99 (E-book)
Excerpt: Chapter 1

"Vivian thinks she can control every aspect of a deadly game with her usual manipulations... but what if she can't?

Seven vampires and seven werewolves pay to hunt a supernatural criminal across the cold, vast grounds of an Alaskan resort. The one to catch her, and live through the encounter, will increase their power by feasting on hers.

The tiny vampire they track is more than she appears, however. To escape a fate of twelve years in silver chains, she'll do anything to survive the weeklong excursion. This time, the darkness holds more than just the stinging bite of the Arctic--it holds death.

Journey along, in this next installment of The VV Inn series, for a wild ride as the tale is told through the eyes of all the new seethe members.

Warning: This book contains some explicit sex scenes and is not intended for readers under 18."

This one was stellar, liked it even better than the first one, same dry funny humor, same witty dialoque but what was different was that  got to see the story from multiple point of views!

I enjoyed Asa's point of view and well as Joanna's in the beginning - and having others like Paul, Rafe and Drew pitch in made the story more surpising, in adition to Viv's narration as well.

These books are funny and addictive, I know there are some short stories out for free grabs that are of the VV Inn world and I wouldn't mind at all reading those next!

C.J. Ellisson has a fun way to present stories, but has this nitch for the gruesom and dark as well, when Viv gets upset it's not pretty.

You'll like The VV Inn series if... you like your vampires powerful, intellegent and hot. ;)

Rating :

Niina : I’d like to introduce C.J. Ellisson the author of Vampire Vacation and The Hunt. Welcome to "For The Love of Reading" C.J., glad you could stop by!

C.J. Ellisson : Thanks for having me, Niina! I’m looking forward to the interview.

Niina : So tell us five fun facts about yourself, so we can get to know you a little better!

C.J : 1) I love my dogs and their breed, Staffordshire Bull Terriers ( smaller cousins to the Pit Bull ), with a deep passion. Sometimes I get more joy from these animals than my own children. Which could possibly be because they listen better and fawn all over me.

2) I never wrote anything before my debut novel, which I began writing in February 2009 as a distraction to some serious health concerns.

3) I’m not a natural redhead and I tell pretty much anyone who compliments me on my hair color. My thought is they will one day see me with roots and I’d hate to appear like some lying witch.

4) I love to camp with my family in our travel trailer. We gave up tents a few years ago and haven’t looked back!

5) My ticket to college was my art portfolio. I had crappy grades in high school, but high SAT scores. I promptly switched to Chemistry my second year in ( after a one semester as a Fine Arts major and one as a Business major ).

Niina : Your V V Inn novels are both out now, how would you describe the books?

C.J : In short, they are erotic paranormal mysteries set in Alaska. Both books have some funny parts, some gore, and lots of hot sex.

Niina : What chapter did you most enjoyed writing and why?

C.J : You’re asking me to pick one chapter out of over sixty in the combined books… I can’t. I can tell you the hardest ones in each book, the ones I struggled over, but after that I’m not sure. Perhaps in retrospect, my favorite chapters were the last ones in each book. I experienced the full body rush and excitement of completing the novels and danced around my house with my kids when the books were finished. Both times stand out to me as very happy memories with my family.

Niina : Which character in your books became your favorite?

C.J : Sorry, again, I can’t pick just one! The three main ones, Vivian/Dria, her husband Rafe, and Jonathan the werewolf are all tied as my favorites. I’ve also become quite fond of the bumbling Paul. He turned out to be more fun to write than I had anticipated.

Niina : What about your Vivian makes you go, “oh don’t do that!” if any?

C.J : LOL! Lots of things. She’s a bit of an overbearing bitch, but that was on purpose. Who expects an ancient vampire to be all sunshine and daisies? When she’s especially harsh or violent I have a difficult time crafting the passage. I know it’s who she is and I have to remain true to her character, but they can still trip me up.

Niina : What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

C.J : The fact that I prefer to write in first person present tense. Plainly put, I didn’t know any better when I started writing. It’s grown on me and I struggle to write past tense in any form.

Niina : What is the biggest “no-no” when it comes to writing for you?

C.J : Telling too much. The technique can be used in a novel, despite what new writers hear in workshops, but it should be intermingled evenly with showing. Lots of authors feel there should be no telling, but if you did that it would take forever to “show” the story in convincing prose to the reader… and it might get boring after a while, too. The best writing balances telling and showing so it becomes unobtrusive to the reader.

Niina : So, why did you pick the Erotic Romance genre, are there any other genres you’ve dabbled in?

C.J : Ahh… I really didn’t. I just wrote a story I really wanted to read—married couple, snark n dark, hot sexy bits and all. I’ve found various readers will call my books different things when trying to slot them into a genre. I don’t mind what they call it as long as they buy it ;-)

I’ve also written two contemporary erotica novellas ( pretty much sex every few pages with a loose story ), and am currently working on a middle-grade fantasy book for my kids and some non-fiction work.

Niina : What makes a hero sexy?

C.J : Attitude. If he’s confident and interested in YOU it’s a big turn on. I’ve met some sexy guys that were only average looking, but they certainly made my blood boil with their heated glances and lingering looks…. Like they knew something I didn’t. Made me curious to find out just what they knew.

Niina : Definately agreeing with you on that! Now to more personal questions! Your current Top 5 dangerous bad boys in literature? (and why?)

C.J : Oh gosh, just five? I love Eric Northman, when he had amnesia in an early book I fell hard for him. He’s strong and doesn’t bend to what others think is right—he follows his own heart. Bones, with his quite strength and sexy ways. Kisten from the Hollows series… simply for loving Rachel as she is. I was so sad when Ms.Harrison killed him off. Adam from Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson series, for many, many reasons. And last but not least, Jean Claude from the Anita Blake books. What’s not to love about a drop dead sexy vampire who calls you pet names in French?

Niina : Jean Claude... *sigh* He's on my list as well. ;D What about who is currently your book boyfriend?

C.J :  LOL! The main character in my own series, Rafe. God, I wish my husband, Pete, was like him. Doesn’t help that Pete has read the books and just smiles at some of Rafe’s finer traits. Like he knows he could never be that perfect so why bother to try? LOL!

Niina : Would you rather meet real vampires or werewolves?

C.J : Oh man, another hard choice! Love these questions, Niina, you did a great job. Hmm… I think I’d like to meet a werewolf. I love vampires, but they have been written about for so long and so wide spread that I almost feel like every conceivable notion has been covered… but werewolves… hmmm… maybe some mystery still remains.

Niina : I do try my best. ;) Now, if you could only read 5 Erotic Romance books for the rest of your life what would they be, and why?

C.J : LOL! I prefer straight up erotica to erotic romance, mainly because I like learning new stuff. I mean, hey, porn is pretty crappy and the women look fake as hell—not to mention their age! *shudder* So erotica it is. I LOVE Emma Holly. I strive to write as well as her some day in my sex scenes. My top favorite of hers are Menage, Cooking up a Storm, All U Can Eat and her earlier Upyr Series books ( excellent paranormal worldbuilding and scorching sex, woo-hoo! ).

Niina : Can you share with us three closest books to you?

C.J : Do you mean like the physical location or ones that matter to me right now? I have an ereader, and work in a formal living room that was converted to a library before I became a writer. So my favorites are always close at hand.

As far as what books changed my reading experience, I’d have to say the first ones that really made an impression on me were all from the Black Lace series, a now defunct UK imprint. These books were erotica written by women for women. I discovered them back in the late nineties and quickly bought two-dozen titles. These were the first stories I’d read that glossed over the romance aspect and made sex the central focus in the books. I didn’t know such well written books like existed. I didn’t need a happy ever after romance and more. I was happily married and had my prince—but a book that got the sexiest organ, your brain, in your body working?

The books made me think and made me want to tear my husband’s clothes off and try new things. That’s a winner in my mind!

Niina : If we could ask Vivian what is her favorite hobby, what would she answer?

Vivian : When you’ve been around as long as I have, there are very few things that remain unexplored. One passion I’ve held onto through the years is collecting rare first edition books written in their original language. The bookcases lining the landings in our inn are filled with the thousands I’ve accumulated over the centuries.

Niina : Now, what's the best part about being an author? And what’s the worst?

C.J : Definitely the cool factor of saying you’re an author. I don’t often get to share the news face to face, since I’m mostly online, but when I do my heart swells with pride. This is something I’ve done on my own and there are still days I’m blown away by the sheer amount of time I’ve poured into it.

The worst? Hmm… the pressure to get books out faster. As I reach more and more readers I’m getting requests for the third book, which is great don’t get me wrong, but it’s still pressure. I’m not like most authors who wrote for years and have half a dozen manuscripts completed by the time their first novel is accepted. I know I’ll get faster with time, but in the interim the deadlines weigh me down.

When I told readers I was re-releasing the de-sexified series for the high-YA audience, complete with new titles, new covers, and lots of kick-ass art, I got some surprising comments. A few people even told me to “just write another series” and leave V V the way it is.

First off, the sex is the one thing I get the most complaints about in the book, either people love the books for that reason, or it rubs them wrong and they have to stop reading. I felt the storyline and characters were good enough to carry the book without the sex and I hope to prove it. Second – the people who made that comment have no idea just how long it takes to write a good book. Doing three new books in a series could take me at least two years to complete, whereas rewriting an existing series will take me two months.

Niina : Before we finish here are some Quick Fire Questions:

Cats or dogs? Dogs
Coffee or tea?  Coffee
Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?  Dark
Beach or forest?  Forest
Night or day?  Depends…. So I’ll say night.
UF (Urban Fantasy) or PNR (Paranormal Romance)?  UF, baby!
Bad boys or good cops? Good cops.
Brunettes or Blonds? Tall, dark and delicious.
Vampires or werewolves? Vamps rule, weres drool! Just kidding ;-)
Romance or erotica? Erotica
Men:  Alpha-male or submissive? In between. I don’t like a hard ass or a pushover.
Male POV or female POV (Point Of View)?  Female
Pick-up or Mini-van?  Pick-up
Beer or Wine? Beer… or preferably my new favorite— Magner’s (an Irish hard cider I call the elixir of the Gods).
Pizza or Restaurant? Depends, but I’d kill for a good pizza (I’m gluten free )
Cake or Donuts? Same thing as above, but I have found some good GF cookies and some great Betty Crocker GF cake mixes.
Golden Girls or Family Ties?  Golden Girls!
Movies: Romantic comedies or Action/Adventure? Action!
Halloween or Midsummer? Halloween. Really, is there anything else?
Times New Roman or Courier? Georgia is my preferred font.
Crayons or markers? Markers.
Kids or pets? PETS! Unlike my children, they don’t talk back, leave their dirty socks all over the house, or put clothes in the wash because they’re wrinkled….

Niina : Thanks for visiting the "For The Love of Reading!" C.J., glad you got the chance to drop by!

C.J :  Thanks so much for having me! I’d like all your readers to stop by for a FREE gift from me. They are welcome to a copy of my first book as well as a whole bunch of other great reads, right on my FB page.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...