None right now.
(all international & blog specific unless told otherwise, aka "U.S" only or "TW" aka Tour Wide)

Wednesday, February 29, 2012


Where Does Inspiration Come From
by Chris Karlsen

           As a writer, the most frequently asked question I get is: “Where does your inspiration come from?” My answer is always: “It depends on the story.” Inspiration can hit me like a lightning bolt or it can creep up on me like a ladybug on my arm or it can be an idea that was buried deep within me and has clawed its way to the front of my thoughts.
           With my first book, “Heroes Live Forever,” the inspiration was an idea buried in my psyche for years. I love a good ghost story and always thought what fun it would be to be a ghost. But then, as I really examined the possibility, I realized how sad it might be too. In the case of my two medieval knights, Basil and Guy, they fought and died for king and country during the 14th century, only to see their homes and family destroyed three-hundred years later because of loyalty to a king. They’ve seen wonderful advances in the world over the centuries but they’ve also seen everyone they cared about die. I was inspired to explore both the good and bad of their ghostly world because they do still have fun with mortals.
           While writing “Heroes Live Forever,” I found myself liking Guy and enjoyed writing him so much, I was inspired to give him his own book. What to do to him and for him came from my fascination with time-travel and medieval English history. What to do to my characters came to me like the lightning bolt I mentioned.
           In “Journey in Time,” Guy has been given another chance at life. Guy, as Alex Lancaster leads a happy, modern world life as a music producer. He finds himself deeply attracted to Shakira Constantine, a successful London attorney. Because he’s her client, it takes a lot of charm for him to get her to agree to spending a weekend in the country with him.
           The marriage of time-travel and medieval history gave me the opportunity to torture Alex and Shakira with a world of problems, life threatening problems. Sending them back to the year prior to Guy’s death in battle, I was able to put Alex in the position of facing his death again, if he can’t return to the modern world. His death put Shakira in the position of potentially having to face a very frightening time alone.
           “Heroes Live Forever,” and “Journey in Time,” are from my “Knights in Time,” series.
           With a book I’ve just finished from a different series, “Golden Chariot,” inspiration crept up on me and over several months.
           While walking the ruins of Troy, in Turkey, I thought about the Trojan War. I found myself wondering how it must’ve felt to a citizen of Troy to look out over the Dardanelle Strait and see the masts of hundreds of enemy ships, invaders by the thousands coming to sack and burn your home. From that thought, I wondered what if Homer got it wrong in the Iliad. What if the Trojans didn’t lose the war?
           Over the next few months thoughts of the Iliad’s heroes and villains crept into my head. Another visit to the Troy ruins brought more questions regarding the mythical characters. When it came time to write a story about my curiosity, I gave the heroine my same questions.
           I have writer friends who’ve been inspired to write stories around nightmares they’ve had or human interest articles they read in the paper. Some are inspired to write about events they’ve experienced and people they know.
           I’d say imagination is a writer’s greatest inspiration. If you can imagine it, you can write about it.

"London attorney, Shakira Constantine, finally agrees to spend the day with her handsome client, Alex Lancaster. While riding in the countryside, the couple finds themselves caught in a time warp and transported back to the 14th Century, and an England preparing for war.

Everyone believes Alex is the Baron Guy Guiscard... a baron who died in the upcoming battle.

If they can’t find a way to return to the 21st Century, Alex will have to sail with the army to certain death. Shakira will be left alone to survive in the alien and terrifying medieval world."

Excerpt :

“Alex, what is going on?” she asked in a frenzied whisper.

“Shh.” After they mounted, Alex sidled over, so close their boots touched. “We’re riding into a very perilous situation. I’ll explain everything when we’re alone. Your life, my life,” he stressed, “depends on you being quiet until then.”

Confused it took Shakira a few seconds before she nodded yes.

“Remember what I told you,” he warned and trotted ahead to chat with the knight he called Simon.

Amazon: Buy / $5.47 (Kindle) ( EU price, click to see the US price )
Barnes&Noble: Buy / $2.99 (Nook)

Chris Karlsen is a retired police detective who spent twenty-five years in law enforcement with two different agencies. Her father was a history professor and her mother an avid reader. She grew up with a love of history and books.

She has always loved traveling and has traveled extensively throughout Europe, the Near East (especially Turkey and the Greek Islands), the Caribbean, and North Africa.

Born and raised in Chicago, Chris has also lived in Paris, Los Angeles, and currently resides in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and four rescue dogs.

You can contact her via: Books to Go Now, P.O. Box 1283, Poulsbo, WA 98370 or on Facebook


"Tren disliked women except in one occasion, in his bed, screaming his name - but other than that he finds them too chatty, loud, crying, screaming annoyance. He can't believe his luck when he fishes out more catch from Earth than was planned, the woman is annoying to no end with her consistent chatter, posturing, filterless mouth and continued criticism."

Author: Eve Langlais
Published: Self Published on May 2011
Pages: 141 Pages
Form: E-book (self-bought)
Genre: Science Fiction Erotic Romance (18+ Only)
Series: Alien Abduction #1
Amazon: Buy / $2.99 (Kindle) ( EU price, click to see US price )
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $2.99 (Nook)
All Romance Ebooks: Buy / $2.99 (Ebook)
Excerpt: Meeting an alien ex-mercenary

Megan is having a bad night, first her toxic (now ex) boyfriend dropped her off his boat to die so he could get all her money, second she's pulled up by a beam of light into a giant spaceship, three the fall breaks her leg.

Oh, we are not done yet! Fourth she wakes up to find a hunky, space pirate set on selling her to the highest bidder as soon as they hit a slave market port... oh and he's purple, and annoyingly attractive, and well just plain annoying.

Tren disliked women except in one occasion, in his bed, screaming his name - but other than that he finds them too chatty, loud, crying, screaming annoyance. He can't believe his luck when he fishes out more catch from Earth than was planned, the woman is annoying to no end with her consistent chatter, posturing, filterless mouth and continued criticism. He should have just killed her and not set on selling her. But then there's the attraction to super pale humanoid, she rattles him, annoys him, but also excites his boring ex-mercenary life.

Awesome story! I laughed so hard reading this! Eve Langlais has some comic genius in her! From the synopsis above you can tell this is going to be an interesting story and it was, it was entertaining, sexy, bantering, sci-fi romance! I'm still jittery even after 11 hours from reading it, I wanted it to go on forever, I loved the firecracker chemistry between Megan and Tren, the bantering, the fights, the posturing, superb!

I loved the hunky purple Tren, he was cocky and dangerous beyond measure and Megan just blabbered at him like there was no tomorrow, teasing him, arguing with him until he saw red and snapped. Though his snapping was fun to read it had a very distinct sexual undertone which made it so delicious! Eventually all the bickering led to some spaceship sheets scorching sex - whoa boy did it ever! These two were match made in heaven, ;) bun intended.

And what I loved the most was the instant attraction and growing addiction they had for each other - sexy as hell. Watching Megan adjust to a violent universe full of the oddest things was so entertaining, especially when Tren took her out in port for the first time and had to knuckle kiss some frisky aliens for eye her - priceless!

I can not wait to read more!

Want my reviews on these bad boys? Here they are - all 5 STAR mind you. ;) Accidental Abduction, Intentional Abduction and Dual Abduction!

Rating :


"Dimitri Arsov, the last remaining pure vampire, was thought to be dead for the past four hundred years. Now, he is back and has a score to settle with the traitor that had tried to kill him centuries ago. But as he waits for his prey to blindly step into his carefully laid trap, his overwhelming hunger for blood is triggered when he saves a beautiful art historian.

Kerstyn Ingmar’s life was normal and straight up boring until the night she is rescued by the dangerously sexy, powerfully mesmerizing, Dimitri.

Unable to resist his diamond blue eyes and intense kisses, she is drawn into his world of darkness and closer to her impending doom.

While their desire consumes them, Dimitri is haunted by images of a bloody and deadly future. As his enemies draw near, he must find a way to save his mate from her destiny before fate destroys them both."

Visit Amanda J. Greene's Website or Blog for all the Release Day Blitz Fun and Caressed by Night Giveaway!

( And don't miss the Excerpt here at the end of the entry! )

Amazon: Buy / $6.09 (Kindle) (EU price, click to see US price)
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $3.25 (Nook)
All Romance Ebooks: Buy / $3.25 (Ebook)

If you recall I have a soft spot for the firt book in the series, Caressed by Moonlight, which was a 4.5 stars worth delicious mix of Victorian London and Vampire Kings!

I was so excited when Caressed by Night ARC arrived last week, I read through it in 24 hours! A wonderful continuation of the Rulers of Darkness series, sexy, threatning, filled with tension and lust... I won't say more, I have the review coming up Friday so you'll just have to wait! Or maybe you'll snag this baby up and make up your own mind, you won't be sorry, this girl can write!

If you are interested in starting from the beginning... Caressed by Moonlight is still free today, 29th, on All Romance Ebooks - this is your chance to read it before Caressed by Night. Though reading Night first won't spoil too much, after all Moonlight takes place in 1814 and Night in current day. ;)

I highly recommend this series - I love it!

"Dorian Vlakhos is no ordinary aristocrat. He is a vampire king, who will do anything to save his clan from complete annihilation, before an ancient curse can claim his immortal life.

Penniless and orphaned, Victoria Kingston has nothing to bring to a marriage, yet she must shackle an unsuspecting gentleman into marriage by the end of the month or forfeit her rights as guardian of her younger sister. With the help of her dearest friend, Victoria begins her hunt, and vows to stay far away from the dark, mysterious, Dorian Vlakhos.

After meeting the beautifully innocent Miss Kingston, Dorian had to have her. He would do absolutely anything to make Victoria his. One sweet stolen kiss would bring them together while a force, more powerful than any vampire would bind them for all eternity.

But treachery, war, and death rule Dorian’s dark world and Victoria would be fortunate to survive."

Barnes & Noble: Buy / $0.99 (Nook)
All Romance Ebooks: Buy / $0.99 (Ebook) (free today 29th)

Caressed by Night
by Amanda J. Greene

“Are you all right?” a man asked from behind her.

She relaxed when she realized the voice sounded nothing like her attackers; it was warm, deep, and comforting.



Slowly turning toward the voice, relief flooded her body, her breathing began to slow, and her limbs went limp. She stumbled and prepared to meet the pavement again, but her rescuer caught her. He tenderly held her to him, supporting her. Kerstyn knew she ought to protest and shove him away, he was a stranger after all, but his touch was soothing and reassuring. She had never felt so safe and calm in her life.

Calm was the furthest thing from her savior’s mind.

Dimitri had heard the vampires’ thoughts as they followed the woman from Dark. He knew he had to protect her from the depraved creatures who intended to make a meal out of her. When he materialized in the alley, the weaker vampires caught his scent and fled, leaving him alone with the woman. Instead of feeling anger as he expected, an entirely different emotion settled over him.

Lust. It was no ordinary lust, but a heart racing, blood raging, sexual yearning and it turned his body into a blazing inferno of need. Then hunger like he had never known slammed into him. It gnawed at him relentlessly as it mixed with his unmerciful lust. The torturous combination attacked both his body and his mind. He had never wanted any woman with this kind of intensity.

His body had been dead for so long, no longer responding to sexual stimulus or blood-thirst. Thousands of years had passed since the last time he had fed. The desire and necessity for blood had abandoned him. None of that seemed to matter now. His fangs sprang free as his pants grew tighter about his throbbing shaft. This woman’s blood sang to him, beckoned him to have a taste.

Dimitri ruthlessly fought the temptation to seize her mind and take what he wanted. The dread of not being able to pull away terrified him. Realizing what precious little control he had, he shut down his senses, driving away her intoxicating scent and the warmth of her soft body against his. He forced the color from his sight, only seeing in black and white with shades of gray. Though he knew he would never forget the light fragrance of her strawberry blonde hair, the feel of her in his arms, and the sapphire color of her eyes.
He took in deep breaths and focused on the cool bite of the air. It washed over his body, rinsing away his desire leaving him as always, cold and unfeeling, like death. He was death: a true, pureblood vampire.

“What were you running from?” he asked, his tone controlled.

“I was being followed.”

He peered over her head, his eyes scanning the alley. “I see no one.”

Nausea twisted her insides as she thought of what almost happened. Thank God, this man was here. If it weren’t for him–

“Do not think about it,” he said, his arms tightening about her. “You are safe now.”

She nodded, rubbing her cheek against his chest. He smelled absolutely wonderful, like dark spices. His voice felt like velvet brushing along her skin. She shivered and sighed in contentment.

“Do you need help with anything?”

His last question snapped her back into action. She stepped back, breaking the circle of his arms.

“I need a taxi.”

“A simple enough task,” he said with a shrug.

She scoffed. If it were simple, she would have been half way home by now. She turned her head up intending to face him and a broad chest greeted her eyes. She was forced to take another step back in order to get a proper look at him.

He was huge. Thick. Stacked.

He must be close to seven feet, she thought as her eyes traveled up his torso, over his wide chest, to his face.

Her heart stopped when their eyes met. They were a near colorless shade of blue. Like diamonds. His gaze was sharp, hard, filled with wisdom and strength. Intense. Warrior eyes. Yet, he could not be much older than her, around twenty-six. His golden hair glittered from the light of the neon signs and floated about his shoulders. His face was chiseled and impossibly perfect. His lips were full and Kerstyn wanted nothing more than to feel them against hers. Her eyes traveled back down his hard, honed body.

She stood, rooted to the cement, captivated by the Norse god before her.

Damn, he’s incredibly yummy.

Dimitri forced himself to remain still while she studied him. Again, he struggled against his urges, his heart thundering from the force of the shock of desire that still echoed in his mind.

He knew one day he would meet his mate, but he had underestimated the force of her seductiveness. He never expected she would spark such yearning deep within his soul. He wondered how Dorian had dealt with such overwhelming need when he had found his intended. Dorian had been the first and, until now, only vampire king to find his other half.

Dimitri’s breath caught as her small, pink tongue wet her lips and her sensual thoughts invaded his mind.

She had to go.

Amanda J. Greene is an erotic paranormal romance author. When she is not writing, she can be found playing the role of a full time university student, who works part time.

She lives in Southern California with her very supportive military husband and their sweet cocker spaniel.

For more information about her upcoming books, visit:

Tuesday, February 28, 2012


"Lindsey is expecting a big surprise for her thirtieth birthday. Something along the lines of a male stripper, courtesy of her best friend. But she didn’t expect her hot stripper fun to include a kidnapping…or the fact that the stripper is an alien intent on stripping them both!"

Author: Lizzie Lynn Lee
Published: Summer House Publishing on July 2011
Pages and Form: 22 Pages / E-book
Genre: Science Fictiction Erotica (18+ Only)
ARe: Buy / $0.00 (e-books , including Kindle)
Smashwords: Buy / $0.00 (E-book)
Excerpt: Chapter 1

"Lindsey is expecting a big surprise for her thirtieth birthday.

Something along the lines of a male stripper, courtesy of her best friend. But she didn’t expect her hot stripper fun to include a kidnapping…

...or the fact that the stripper is an alien intent on stripping them both!"

I wish this would have been longer! The plot was funny, with Lindsey's denial and intoxicated behavior, absolutely refusing to believe anything except the stripper scenario. Got giggles out of me! Lizzie Lynn Lee has a nag of writing funny, sexy stories that cover whole range of genres, but all have erotica and romance in common!

Despite the absurdity of the situation the novella was definitely erotica, from well hung alien kings to cold showers! The story was sexy! It could have been longer, and I hoped it would have been with both slightly goofy Lindsey and arrogant warrior king Fairoh being such a great match chemistry wise. I would have loved to have know what happens after the short story ended, but I suppose I just have to imagine it. ;)

A great free read to anyone who loves science fiction romance, erotic romance and humanoid aliens getting bossy. ;)

This is short FREE read on both Smashwords and All Romance Ebooks so do go pick up your copy, it a funny, sexy read that will cheer up any day! Check out her other novellas, the free and the priced, here!

Rating :

Monday, February 27, 2012


"Kade agreed  to a blind date only to escape his Pack for a night, expecting to meet a cute girl and have a nice evening he's thoroughly shocked when he smell his mate in the restaurant, deciding to do the right thing regardless he walks to his date - only to discover that it's her, his mate."

Author: Carrie Ann Ryan
Published: Self Published on December 2011
Pages and Form: 59 Pages / E-book
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Redwood Pack #1
Amazon: Buy / $3.44 (Kindle) ( EU price, click to see US price )
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $0.99 (Nook)
Excerpt: Chapter 1

Melanie hasn't let her hair down, pretty much ever, and now after her friends ruthless pressure she'd said yes and is heading out to a blind date. Anxious and nervous she contemplates rationality of her decision.

Kade agreed  to a blind date only to escape his Pack for a night, expecting to meet a cute girl and have a nice evening he's thoroughly shocked when he smell his mate in the restaurant, deciding to do the right thing regardless he walks to his date - only to discover that it's her, his mate.

Doing the stupidest thing possible to über-logical Melanie he confesses he's a werewolf and shape shift in front of her after a night of hot sex - only to find out she won't take nicely to it and walks out. And now someone else is sniffing around her as well, and the Pack Law promises blood will be shed.

I truly enjoyed this novella! I loved the whole aspect of a blind date bringing werewolf to his mate, and I loved when he freaks the crap out of her. Melanie was so conservative and prober that when something so out of the normal happened she flat out froze and refused to deal with it - of course that is where I started to get angry with her, a good story always brings out strong emotions in a reader. I wanted nothing more than to see her with Kade, letting go of some of that hard-headed logic.

Kade, oh he was good! I loved how he blurted out he was a werewolf and got laughed at, and I echo his brother's Jasper's statement of "Are you kidding me?" no one should drop that bombshell of a first date! I liked how Kade was already wounded, having to have fought over a girl he had though might have been his mate, and now he had to face the fact that he might have to fight for Melanie as well. He was kind though, considerate and sexy but very much set on waiting for Melanie to come to him - giving her the choice to choose him, instead of forcing her to be his mate. I liked it, but it was frustrating! Strong emotions again.

This story was quickly read, An Alpha's Path was satisfying, romantic, entertaining, had action and threat! A great shifter story! I'd definitely read more on the series!

The cover is great, I loved the darkness and the moodiness which went perfect with the feel of the story, plus look at those abs, yum! The cover pulls you in, the blurb hooks you and the story keeps you reading!

Rating :

Niina : Welcome to For The Love of Reading, Carrie Ann, I’m glad you could make it!

Carrie Ann Ryan : Thanks so much for having me!

Niina : Let’s get started! Can you tell my readers here 4 fun unknown facts about you so we can break the ice?

Carrie Ann : Hmmm… 1) I wasn’t born in America, though I’m only American. 2) I started college at 13. 3)I have two cats named Miley Cyrus and Maxie Jonas 4) I’m only 5’2” and can’t reach my cabinets in my kitchen

Niina : Tell us little about your novella An Alpha’s Path , what’s it about?

Carrie Ann : An Alpha’s Path is the first book in the seven book Redwood Pack series. The rest of the books will be full length novels. But with An Alpha’s Path it’s about what happens when a socially awkward chemist finds out her blind date is a werewolf – and claims she’s his mate?

Niina : Tell us something about your book that we wouldn’t know just by reading the blurb? 

Carrie Ann : It’s an overnight blind date. It might be a little steamy. Okay. It’s REALLY steamy.

Niina : What chapter or scene did you most enjoyed writing and why?

Carrie Ann : Their initial meeting over dinner. The way they reacted in each other’s presence was a delight to write.

Niina : How did cover come to be, and if you didn't take part in making it, what is your opinion of it?

Carrie Ann :  My cover artist is my friend and I told her I wanted a man, a wolf and a path. Then her and her hubby made it. I love it.

Niina : What makes a shifter hero sexy?

Carrie Ann : Other than his body, his eyes, his hair or his growl? Yummy to all of those. But what I think makes them even sexier is that they are so protective of their mates and very animalistic sometimes. Very hot.

Niina : Can you tell us three fun/quirky things about Kade and Melanie that we didn't learn from the book?

Carrie Ann : You’ll see in the rest of the series that: 1) These two will be Alpha mates of the Pack and are still learning LOL 2) Melanie actually runs the house – not Kade LOL 3) In the second book, A Taste for a Mate, you’ll see how Kade really can’t handle stress if it involves Melanie. *evil laugh* (I’m not telling you any more LOL)

Niina : That’s bite evil…. ;) Now to more personal questions! Your current Top 3 dangerous fictional bad boys, and why them?

Carrie Ann : Oh my. Roarke from the In Death series, Spade from the Night Huntress Series, Z from the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series.

Niina : What is your signature dish?

Carrie Ann : New Orleans Red Beans & Rice (my great great aunt’s recipe)

Niina : What’s the number 1 thing you like to do when you are not writing?

Carrie Ann :  Read? LOL. Or Cook.

Niina : Before we finish, here are some Quick Fire Questions: 

Night or day?  Late Day or Early Night.
Pick-up or Mini-van? Pick Up
Beer or Wine? Beer
Boots or Heels?  Boots (I suddenly sound like a truck driver according to the last three questions LOL)
M&Ms: With or Without Peanuts?  Without
Treats: Sweet or Salty? Sweet
Pizza or Burger? Burger (I hate cooked tomatoes)
Date: Going to Park or Going to Movies?  Movies
Friends or Will & Grace? Friends (I can say almost every line in most shows LOL)
Drama or Comedy? Drama
Winter or Summer? Summer
Jewels or Chocolates? Chocolate (I can’t were Jewels on most days)
Men: Alpha-male or submissive? Alpha-Male
Men: Clean Shaven or Stubble? Stubble
Women: Talkative or wallflowers? Wallflower
Women: Curvy or Slim? Curvy
Tattoos or Piercings? Tattoos
Bad boys or good guys?  Bad boys that can be good
Brunettes or Blonds?  Blond girls, brunette boys
Vampires or werewolves? Werewolves.
Cops or Cowboys? Cowboys
Time-Travel or Sci-fi? Sci-fi
Romance or Erotica/Erotic Romance? Romance w/ Erotic scenes. So lots of story and the sex is hot
Male POV or Female POV (Point Of View)? Both. Why decide?
Times New Roman or Courier? Times new Roman. Courier has too much space.
Pens or pencils? Pen mostly, pencil doing math at work

Niina : Thanks for visiting the For The Love of Reading, Carrie Ann, come back any day!

Carrie Ann : Thanks so much for having me!!!

Visit Carrie Ann Ryan at her Website!

Sunday, February 26, 2012


"Sobek begins to fight the attraction he feels for her because it is forbidden for a God to love a Human, a law so enforced that it would be the death of the human. But the near death of Merys makes him throw away his charade and let her see just who he is... and just how much he lusts after her."

Author: Veronica Scott
Pages: 88 pages
Publisher: Carina Press
Published: January, 2012
Form: E-book (from a tour for an honest review)
Genre: Paranormal Historical Romance
Amazon: Buy / $2.99 (Kindle) ( EU price, click to see US price )
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $2.99 (Nook)
All Romance E-books: Buy / $2.99 (E-book)
Excerpt: Chapter 1

Egypt 1500 BC. Sobek, the Crocodile God, is drawn to one of his old, now a ruin, temple, where he hears one of his old song sung by a beautiful young woman. Unable to stop himself he introduces himself as a mere man asking to spend an hour in conversation.

Merys, the ill-fated daughter from a the village scribe's earlier marriage, spends an evening exchanging stories with a man dressed like a wealthy merchant, a man like she's never known before, handsome, kind and intriguing.

Their meetings become frequent, and Sobek begins to fight the attraction he feels for her because it is forbidden for a God to love a Human, a law so enforced that it would be the death of the human. But the near death of Merys makes him throw away his charade and let her see just who he is... and just how much he lusts after her.

A simple, entertaining story of love of insurmountable obstacles in the ancient Egypt, with its vast amount of gods and goddesses, pharaohs and mere men and women of its land. Priestess of the Nile is short story of love that either one of the destined couple doesn't hope to dream of, coming to fruition. It's beyond forbidden for a God to come to love a human woman and have a life with her. It's a sweet love story, filled with egyptian mythology, to have any girl hooked to see what will happen between Sobek and Merys, because surely there has to be a way for this to end happily, doesn't there?

Despite this Bek can't be away from Merys once he'd come to hear her enchanting songs and hear her stories of her village and of her unjust life with her new stepmother and her children. Bek has never loved before, and it takes a while to realize what it is he feels for her, having lived forever he has an air of languid crocodile like patience and strength and he waits too long to truly let her know how he feels. Put once his heart knows pain there is nothing to stop the horrible power he can wield against those who have taken from him.

Merys, a young woman dedicating herself to singing and honoring the Crocodile God even though his temple is in ruins, is the descendant of the High Priestess of Sobek. She's solemn and has been through a lot with her new stepmother and her new children with her father, despite the way she's treated she hasn't lost the playfulness and her happiness when she's free of them and alone by the banks of the Nile, caring for the temple.

In all this book was very good, it had just the right amount of despair, hope, love and mythology to make the story truly entertaining. At 88 pages it's a quick read, just few hours, but time well spent! Once you start the story you don't want to set it down, I sure didn't. This is my favorite Egyptian Novella so far! Makes me want to go and read Mika Waltari's, The Egyptian again. ;)

Rating :

Priestess of the Nile
By Veronica Scott
Egypt, 1500 BC

      The sweet high note Merys held came to an end as she put a hand to her throat, then bent over the tiny waves. She searched along the riverbed, no longer focused on her song.

      A movement to the right caught his eye. What is the name of Set’s horns is that crocodile in the shallows doing? Is it actually swimming to attack her? Enraged, Bek threw himself down the trail at a breakneck speed.

      Merys stood carefully in one spot. She pushed her hair out of her eyes roughly and sighed in frustration, checking her neck one more time, not quite accepting the loss of her necklace. The slithering sensation against her skin as the old leather thong parted and the amulet fell had been so startling, she had not grabbed for it in time. Peering uselessly into the murk of the Nile, Merys blinked back tears. The only possession of bmy great-grandmother’s I had left, the symbol of my being a priestess—gone. I’ll wait for the silt to settle and then hopefully I can find it. Taking a moment to enjoy the soaring flight of a flock of white ibis against the blue sky, she stood straighter, easing her muscles. I envy them their freedom.

      The sky tilted and vertigo assailed her as her feet were violently yanked out from under her. A crocodile closed its mighty jaws around her ankle, ripping a desperate scream from her throat. The bone-crushing force sent a sheet of hot pain up her leg and through her body until adrenaline pulsed in her system. The beast dragged her under the surface of the Nile, pulling her toward the center of the river. Cold water rushed over her face, into her open mouth. Merys gagged, tried to hold her breath, beating on the animal’s closed jaws with her fists, then trying to jab at the nearest eye. Her stomach heaved, nausea and weakness from the intensity of the pain in her leg spreading outward from her gut.

      The crocodile rolled her over and over, tossing her like Tyema’s puppy with a rag doll. Black spots
danced before her eyes and she scrunched them tightly  closed against the dizziness. What do I do to get away before I drown? I have to breathe. My chest is going to explode. I’ve got to have air. Just as her lungs were bursting, something huge flashed by her in the water and struck the crocodile with enough force to shove it sideways a few feet against the current. The predator opened its jaws to deal with the threat and Merys floated free.

      A tiny hope of survival bloomed within her. A spurt of energy sizzled through her nerves, giving her
new strength. Kicking as hard as she could with the injured leg, heart pounding, Merys clawed her way to the surface. The water in her vicinity churned bright red. Something solid rose from the murky depths. Merys screamed and flailed, too weak to swim. A hard surface lay under her, lifting her completely out of the water, supporting her as if she were stretched out on a board or a raft. Thank the gods for helping me. Nausea and dizziness overwhelmed her and the world faded from her view.

      When Merys regained consciousness, she was held safe in Bek’s muscular arms, nestled against his broad chest. Too exhausted to question the miracle of his presence she curled closer to him in relief while he strode across the beach toward her favorite spot under the palm trees. Tenderly he laid her in the softest spot, then bent to examine her leg.

      Blood gushed from a long series of deep, serrated slashes, staining her dress as well as his hands and kilt. The crocodile’s teeth had shredded her lower leg from ankle to knee. The bone showed through. The pain was excruciating.

      Merys leaned to the side and vomited river water that burned her throat while Bek held her hair out of the way. As she wiped her mouth, exhausted, he pushed her gently to a reclining position. Chanting
something, he proceeded to run his hands over her legs. The pain spiked, then receded.
      What is he doing? Some kind of healing, but how?

      Green light shone from his hands, radiating from his palms in a cold, numbing rush. The light brought
blessed relief, mending her skin and bones in front of her eyes. Thank the gods.
      When he finished, Bek sat on his haunches, resting his hands on his thighs, and scrutinized her. His face was lined, his eyes shadowed. He was dripping wet.

      Another time I would have appreciated this view. But right now I need to understand what happened.
     “You saved me? How? How could you defeat a crocodile? And what did you do to my leg?” Wriggling her toes, Merys touched her shin hesitantly with the tips of her fingers. I’m safe in his arms. Her
pulse slowed. The weakness ebbed away as she relaxed.

      Bek gathered her in for a hug and she breathed deeply of his clean masculine scent. Crooning her
name over and over, he buried his face in her hair. Then he pulled back, framing her face with both of his broad hands, and met her eyes. “I thought I’d lost you.”

      She put a trembling hand on his cheek. “Who are you, Bek?”

     “Sobek.” He cleared his throat as he stroked her back with one hand. She realized her soaked dress
must be clinging to her as tightly as his wet tunic was plastered to his body. She leaned into the shelter of his mighty arms. Bek rested his lips next to her ear and whispered, “I am Sobek.”

      New adrenaline pumped through her, making her heart pound and sending a hot pulse along her nerves. “The Crocodile God?” I’ve been sitting and talking to the Great One all this time, treating him like a human man? I fell in love with him. How could I have been so blind? So stupid?

      “The Crocodile God himself?”

      “Yes.” He nodded, watching her closely, his green eyes steady on her face, his brows slightly raised. “I’m sorry I misled you.”

Veronica Scott grew up in a house with a library full of books as its heart, and when she ran out of things to read, she started writing her own stories. Married young to her high school sweetheart then widowed, Veronica has two grown daughters, one young grandson and cats.

Veronica's life has taken many twists and turns, but she always makes time to keep reading and writing. Everything is good source material for the next novel or the one after that anyway, right? She's been through earthquakes, tornadoes and near death experiences, although nothing is as stressful as meeting a book deadline. Always more stories to tell, new adventures to experience--Veronica's personal motto is, "Never boring."

Website / Twitter / Facebook / Amazon / Harlequin


"Cut off from the outside world, the lives of these two strangers collide and burn with desire when stranded in the perfect storm. Both are content with the idea of sharing a glorious one-night stand together, that is, until they go their separate ways."

Author: Sandra Bunino
Published: Bradley Publishing on January, 2012
Pages and Form: 66 Pages/ E-book
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance (18+ Only)
Amazon: Buy / $5.36 (Kindle) ( EU price, click to see US price )
Barnes & Noble: Buy / $3.50 (Nook)
Excerpt: Chapter 1

"Undeniable lust and a fierce Miami storm bring sexy strangers together at The Hotel Del Santos for a passion filled night.

Stephanie, still reeling from a failed marriage, needs a break from the past. She decides to take her friends’ advice and finds a perfect stranger for a night of no-strings-attached, smoking hot sex.

Jason, a wealthy Seattle builder has the worst luck with love. Swearing he would never allow another woman to get under his skin, Jason decides a life of casual sex is just fine with him. While watching Stephanie’s sexy stilettos click across the lobby floor he zeros in on his next conquest.

Cut off from the outside world, the lives of these two strangers collide and burn with desire when stranded in the perfect storm. Both are content with the idea of sharing a glorious one-night stand together, that is, until they go their separate ways.
" ~From Goodreads

The plot is interesting, with uptight and burned Stephanie hooking up with Jason, who's been burned in his end too, for one night of no string attached fun. And then the next morning comes and the storm passes and it's not quite so easy to keep away after all.

This was a good book, I enjoyed it, it lacked some depth that would have upped the score a little, but in all a book worth reading. I liked the whole idea of being marooned in a hotel without electricity for the night and making the most of it.

Jason was very determined, but had a touch of kindness to him leaving the choices to Stephanie who let her hair down and celebrated her divorce with a hunky guy she was to never see again. They were a good match, but lacked that extra something in their chemistry.

The cover is way hotter than the story, there were love scenes there and they were good but they also were missing something. I almost gave this 2.5 stars but it had some really good redeeming qualities like the plot, and the ending and the fact that Stephanie was keeping secrets.

You'll like this if... you fancy the idea of meeting someone in a middle of the storm and creating fireworks, or if you like your characters unable to keep away from each other!

Rating :

Saturday, February 25, 2012


I've been reading The Wallflower Series by Lisa Kleypas that is set in the mid 1800's England, as I'm near done with them I spend the past 4 hours making these two. Wallflowers and Gentlemen & Rakes!

( Candice Swanepoel, Emmy Rossum, Cintia Dicker & Mandy Moore )

( Andrei Andrei, Henri Cavill, Gabriel Aubry & Channing Tatum )

What do you think? Are you a fan of Lisa's Wallflower series?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...